New Lounger
    Thanks

Can I import an Excel File into Access?

I am new with this. I likely am posting this question at wrong place. Need help with Microsoft Access. Can one imports the the Excel formatted file into the Microsoft Access? If yes, c an yo tell me where I can find training/Help to facilitate this? Thank you!

Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Lakusiso,

Welcome to the lounge as a new poster.

Yes you can import Excel tables into Access. Actually, you have two methods of doing this.
    1. You can Link to the table which allows you to use the Excel data in Access with out actually putting the data there or...
    2. You can Import the data into an Access table then you no longer need to keep the Excel table if you don't need it.

The following instructions are for Access 2003 {they will vary slightly for 2007 & 10 due to the ribbon interface}.
    1. Select File from the menu
    2. Select Get External Data
    3. Choose Import... (for option 2 above) or Link Tables... (for option 1 above).
    4. Follow the prompts forward.

Please note that your data table in Excel should have Column Labels as these will be used for the Field names in Access, of course you can change them later in the case of Importing.

Good luck and post back if you have more questions. For the Help page in Access type "Importing Excel" into the help box.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

RG

PowerShell & VBA Rule!

My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    In addition to RG's response, you cannot import cells containing formulas. Access performs calculations in a completely different way, so you import data but not calculations.
    Regards
    John

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Seems the import has been done already: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...-Imported-File. This post is previous to the other one.

Gold Lounger
    Thanks