Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    qaz
    Guest

    Can't open device manager

    hi

    can't open device manager in xp pro

    i get:
    mmc.exe
    unable to locate component
    failed to start because apphelp.ddl not found
    try reinstalling

    can anyone help here

    thanks mark

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,526
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 500 Times in 460 Posts
    How have you tried to access Device Manager?
    There are a number of ways one can go about it:

    Right-click My Computer, click Manage, and then click Device Manager.
    Right-click My Computer, click Properties, click the Hardware tab, and then click Device Manager.
    Type the following in a command prompt: start devmgmt.msc
    Type the following in the run box: devmgmt.msc

    Perform a checkdisk with the "R" switch enabled from the XP recovery console or a bootable dos disk.

    From MS Support:
    Error Message "Snap-in Failed to Initialize" When You Use Microsoft Management Console


    Last option would be a nondestruct repair install of Windows XP:
    Fred Langa: XP's Nondestructive Total-Rebuild Option
    How to completely rebuild, repair, or refresh an existing XP installation without messing anything up.
    By Fred LangaInformationWeek
    January 02, 2007 07:58 PM

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    398
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Fred needs to fix the "click image links" on that XP's Nondestructive Total-Rebuild Option article on your post #2

    The image links redirect to some news site.... no images about above.

  4. #4
    qaz
    Guest
    hi

    not sure what u mean by "How have you tried to access Device Manager?" isnt that the same as "open", which is what i said i cant do

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,397
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by qaz View Post
    hi

    not sure what u mean by "How have you tried to access Device Manager?" isnt that the same as "open", which is what i said i cant do
    Clint suggested a few ways to open Device Manager. Have you tried each of them? Do they all fail?

  6. #6
    qaz
    Guest
    yes, tried and no luck....get same message

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,397
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    What about the chkdsk /R?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,986
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 571 Times in 517 Posts
    Do do a system restore to a point prior to the device manger problem. if you don't have a restore point, try the non destructive rebuild as suggested by Clint.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    qaz
    Guest
    did chkdsk /R but it only ran from explorer. also did system restore. guess ill have to do the rebuild as suggested

    anyone know if the non destructive rebuild will remove sp3, i would quite like this to happen as its not listed in add/remove programs
    thanks all
    Last edited by qaz; 2011-11-01 at 15:37.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,397
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    You will need to use a slipstreamed to include SP3, to avoid that. This article version has the images. If you need info on how to splipstream XP3, it's easy to find links that explain the procedure.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by qaz View Post
    guess ill have to do the rebuild as suggested
    qaz,
    Hello... from a "Administrator Command prompt" input .....sfc /scannow ( system file checker ) this will repair any corrupt files . You might be required to load your disk if the i386 folder is not present on your OS. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Do you have apphelp.dll in your system32 folder ?
    Or get a copy of the dll and save it in that folder to make XP happy.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •