Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Media Player not working right

    So, all of a sudden, WMP11 won't work. Associations are still good, but if I try to start Media Player, either by starting the program, or clicking an associated file type, I get the spinny-cursor, then nothing.

    I can only start WMP if I Run As Administrator - which is inconvenient, messy and frustrating.

    I can't find an installation package to download from MS, and I can't find any way to fix Media Player. Any ideas? Thank you in advance!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Check the security settings for wmplayer.exe for all users. It should be set to read and execute only.
    Do you have a system restore point prior to the problem occurring? If so, run system restore.
    You can also try running sfc /scannow from an elevated prompt.
    If that doesn't work try a non destructive reinstall.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by clarknovak View Post
    all of a sudden, WMP11 won't work.
    I can only start WMP if I Run As Administrator - which is inconvenient, messy and frustrating.
    clark,
    Hello.. Find media player icon and right click on it and choose "Properties">Security>Advanced>Owner... Set yourself as "Owner" Apply and "OK" out. Now back on the "Properties Screen" click on whoever you set as owner and give "Full Control" (Click Edit) Sometimes the check boxes appear "Grayed out" ...but you can still "Check" them...Then Apply and OK ...You should then be good to go... Regards fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your help, guys. Unfortunately, neither option worked

    I also found the WMP Setup file in the WMP directory, and tried to execute it -hoping it would initiate a reinstall - but the installer told me I had a newer version installed and the installer could not be used to repair.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by clarknovak View Post
    Thanks for your help, guys. Unfortunately, neither option worked

    I also found the WMP Setup file in the WMP directory, and tried to execute it -hoping it would initiate a reinstall - but the installer told me I had a newer version installed and the installer could not be used to repair.
    clark,
    Hello... you stated that you can run WMP as an administrator...You need to change the ownership to a "user" ( not Administrator) and give yourself "Full Control" Can you post a screen shot of WMP Properties? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You bet, Fred.

    01 Nov. 02 17.19.png02 Nov. 02 17.19.png

    These are properties of the wmplayer.exe file found in C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\ . As the screenshots show, I (Clark) have full control, and am the Owner of the file.

    Did I mention I am running 64-bit Vista?

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by clarknovak View Post



    These are properties of the wmplayer.exe file found in C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\ . As the screenshots show, I (Clark) have full control, and am the Owner of the file.
    Clark,
    Hello.. Thanks... sure looks OK.. Have you looked at the properties of the "WMP" Folder? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    WoodyMc (2011-12-28)

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, I have looked at the Windows Media Player folder and made sure I am the owner and given full control:
    01 Nov. 09 08.51.png02 Nov. 09 08.51.png

    Still no joy!

  10. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Hi clark,
    Just another thought... If you go to the WMP.exe icon in the WMP folder and right click properties.... See screenshot and look at the check box run as "Administrator" is it checked ? Regards Fred

    PS: also look at the "Button" below "Change settings for all users"
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No, it isn't checked:

    03 Nov. 09 15.35.png

    Thank you again for your help. Maddening, this is!

  12. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Clark,
    Try and check the "Privilege Level" check box "Run this program as an Administrator", Then click apply...Do the same for "Show settings for all users" Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  13. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I can't do it - the box is grayed and the dialog says "Compatibility modes cannot be set on this program because it is part of this version of Windows."

  14. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by clarknovak View Post
    I can't do it - the box is grayed and the dialog says "Compatibility modes cannot be set on this program because it is part of this version of Windows."
    Clark,
    Hello....Yes you are correct... (sorry)...I just tried that too ... Noticing one strange thing ...I set "Permissions " for the WMP.exe in the Windows media player folder.. and gave myself and Administrator, Everyone, full control as well as set myself as Owner...When then checking the WMP "Properties" in the Windows Start Button> All Programs> WMP Icon>Properties... the permissions were as they were originally... System was the owner and had the "full control". Don't know why, or have any idea why that is so???You would think that once you set one they would all fall in line the same. Did you set that icons properties? ( the one in the start Menu >All Programs) or just the one in the WMP folder (WMP.exe) Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Fred,

    I have been setting the permissions for wmplayer.exe itself (the target file), not for the Start menu shortcut. I've also been trying to invoke wmplayer.exe directly, not through the shortcut (and failing miserably!).

  16. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK, here's something interesting: I installed TreeSize to do some disk management, and when I run it in Administrator mode and click on an MP3, Media Player starts right up, just like it should. When I click on the same file in Windows Explorer, nothing happens.

    Is it possible that my user account, even though Vista says it's an Administrator, really isn't?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •