Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 53
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts

    Trial EaseUS ToDo 3.5 versus Acronis True Image Home 2011

    I downloaded the new EaseUS ToDo v3.5 (free version) to use it and compare it to my present Imaging app, Acronis True Image Home 2011. Here are my personal observations on my personal laptop.

    Acronis TIH 2011: I am able to create an Image, including validating the Image in about 20 to 25 minutes. This Image lets me choose to include both my Win 7 partition and my Win 8 DP partition. I can create an Image that includes one, two or all three of my partitions very easily. I can restore either of my OSes from this one Image, although they have to be restored one partition at a time. I could just as easily added my D Drive (Data partition) into the Image and added a few minutes to the creation (I don't have really large data requirements) YMMV.

    Acronis is not free, but can be found very reasonably priced. I have never been let down when I need to restore my PC.

    EaseUS ToDo v3.5 free: When I choose the System Backup from the main menu, I get no choice on which partitions to Image. The created Image will only include the OS that is presently active. The creation took approx. 15 minutes without validation. I had to validate the Image separately, it is not an option during the creation. This took another approx. 7 minutes. Now remember, this only included one partition, in this case my Win 7 partition. I would have to install the app and run it from within Win 8 DP to create an Image of that partition.

    Honestly this seems very clunky to me. In comparing the free versus paid edition I do not see this either.

    I do not see any advantage to EaseUS ToDo 3.5 free over Acronis TIH 2011 and in fact have noticed several diaadvantages in my short test. I guess what I have to say is goo-bye EaseUS To Do 3.5 free.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    Jagworld (2011-10-31)

  3. #2
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks Ted;
    You give up a lot of time testing and I know we all appreciate it.

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You are very welcome Jag
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Ted,

    Seems the app does allow you to choose which partitions to backup if you choose Disk and partition backup from the Home page, according to the manual available here.

    Actually when I use Acronis I never choose Backup My System, I choose Backup My Disks, which actually gives you the same screen (just found that out). So I think your impression of EaseUS may lie on a different perspective, compared to Acronis TI, of what a System backup should do. What matters, I'd say, is that it seems you can backup while choosing partitions, with EaseUS too.

    My assessment is only from reading the manual, though.

    Regards

    Rui

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    According to the manual too, when using Full Disk and Partition Backup, you can also check the Check backup image integrity after backup option, to automatically check the image file after finishing.

    Probably this Full Disk and Partition Backup is the most featured of the existing backup options, and probably the one to be used most frequently, as it allows other things, like specifying rules to delete previous image files.

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Rui,

    I did a little further testing and I see the Disk and Partition Backup option. it is somewhat small and I did miss it initially:

    EaseUSDiskandPartitionBackup.jpgEaseUSDiskandPartitionBackup2.jpg

    This is comparable to Acronis Disk and Partition Backup:

    Acronis versus EaseUS1.jpg

    The System Backup seen above in EaseUs ToDo gives this screen:

    EaseUSSystemBackup.jpg

    This is what I initially used in my comparison. This does not act exactly the same as Acronis in that if I choose Disk Mode in Acronis it does Image my entire HD, not just the active partition. When I used the System Backup in EaseUS ToDo it would only Image the active partition.

    These 2 apps seem very similar. I will post further results as I perform more testing. I want to give EaseUs ToDo a fair assessment.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    I am quite interested in this test, Ted. I am even downloading the thing and doing an image, cause I was thinking about trying it, too. I guess I will just wait for your results with increased interest .

  9. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    During the trial of EaseUS ToDo v3.5 When I attempted the Disk and Partition Backup. During the Image, it froze at 10.1 minutes completed. I had to do a cold restart to thaw my PC. Everything was frozen. Power switch to restart. I then restored my Win 7 from my latest Acronis Image and started over by reinstalling EaseUS ToDo 3.5. The initial Image attempt was done using medium compression. This time I left compression at the default setting and started over. (In both attempts I was attempting to Image my Win 7 and Win 8 DP partitions in one image as this is how I have been Imaging using Acronis, trying to compare apples to apples, not apples to oranges so to speak) This attempt also froze my system at 10 minutes completed and required the same cold restart using the power switch.

    Perhaps there is some setup in my system that is conflicting, but I created the Acronis Image, which I have restored from twice today just before starting these tests. Acronis works very well for me as evidenced by the fact I'm typing this reply. EaseUS ToDo 3.5 just froze. I also tried the Files backup and it froze. The only Image that worked was the system Image which I have already discussed. I have to say, I do not have much positive to say about EaseUS ToDo 3.5 at this time. I do use EaseUS Partition Magic and have had great success with it, but am very disappointed with EaseUS ToDo 3.5.

    Jag, I am off today and did not have anything else to do (no pun intended here) and since I have been thinking of trying EaseUS ToDo, I figured this was as good of time as any to try it. In my case it did not work as expected. YMMV. Again thanks for your previous thanks.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-10-31 at 15:37.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #9
    Lounger Super Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Jordan Minnesota
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am wondering if this may be an apple and oranges comparison, as you are comparing a Free version(which usually is a lite version) against a paid for program. I would suggest the results would be more valid if you were comparing the paid for version of Easeus against Acronis

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Super Sarge View Post
    I am wondering if this may be an apple and oranges comparison, as you are comparing a Free version(which usually is a lite version) against a paid for program. I would suggest the results would be more valid if you were comparing the paid for version of Easeus against Acronis
    I disagree with your assessement. If you look at the features list, EaseUS Todo Backup even has features that only paid add-ons to Acronis TI offer.

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    When I looked at the comparisons of the free versus paid versions, I did not see anything that would have accounted for what I was seeing. And the freezing was the "straw that broke the camels back". My link above (in post #1) shows the comparisson page. Quite honestly I'm not about to pay for an app who's free version flat out freezes my system just to see if it will work better than the app I already use very effectively. I am very happy with Acronis. It works effectively for me. No one app will work for everyone. I know of one individual that Acronis flat out did not work for him and last I knew he was using Macrium Reflect.

    I guess the point is find an Imaging app that does what you need it to do, and USE IT! I am certainly glad I created an Image using Acronis before I started playing with EaseUS ToDo 3.5.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    During the trial of EaseUS ToDo v3.5 When I attempted the Disk and Partition Backup. During the Image, it froze at 10.1 minutes completed. I had to do a cold restart to thaw my PC. Everything was frozen. Power switch to restart. I then restored my Win 7 from my latest Acronis Image and started over by reinstalling EaseUS ToDo 3.5. The initial Image attempt was done using medium compression. This time I left compression at the default setting and started over. (In both attempts I was attempting to Image my Win 7 and Win 8 DP partitions in one image as this is how I have been Imaging using Acronis, trying to compare apples to apples, not apples to oranges so to speak) This attempt also froze my system at 10 minutes completed and required the same cold restart using the power switch.

    Perhaps there is some setup in my system that is conflicting, but I created the Acronis Image, which I have restored from twice today just before starting these tests. Acronis works very well for me as evidenced by the fact I'm typing this reply. EaseUS ToDo 3.5 just froze. I also tried the Files backup and it froze. The only Image that worked was the system Image which I have already discussed. I have to say, I do not have much positive to say about EaseUS ToDo 3.5 at this time. I do use EaseUS Partition Magic and have had great success with it, but am very disappointed with EaseUS ToDo 3.5.

    Jag, I am off today and did not have anything else to do (no pun intended here) and since I have been thinking of trying EaseUS ToDo, I figured this was as good of time as any to try it. In my case it did not work as expected. YMMV. Again thanks for your previous thanks.
    This is a disappointing result. I believe 3.5 came out a few days ago, so maybe it still has some issues. I may give Todo Backup a go later and see how it goes with my system.

  14. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I also was a little disappointed. EaseUS ToDo has gotten a lot of press recently in these forums and most has been very positive. Perhaps it is a problem with the new version 3.5. I never tried an earlier version. I however do not feel my time today was wasted at all. This is what I do when I have the time, "play" with changes and different apps on my PC. However I would never think of doing this "playing" without an up to date Image to fall back on.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #14
    Lounger Super Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Jordan Minnesota
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have free version 3.0 works great, no need to upgrade to 3.5 for me. I sometimes follow the rule it aint broke do not fix it. I also Use the paid for version of Macrium Reflect Pro. I also scheduled full backups using the the native Windows 7 backup on a daily basis. I manually use Macrium and Easeus 3.0 doing full backups with each on weekly basis. I keep 3 weeks worth of the most recent backups and delete the anything older than 3 weeks

  16. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    Ted,
    This freezing of your system using Todo 3.5 is MOST unusual - perhaps related to the Win 8 installation?? (tho I can't for the life of me see why). Suggest you leave a post on the Todo forum: http://forum.easeus.com/viewforum.php?f=14 - they'll probably want to see some of your files WHICH SHOULD BE ZIPPED BEFORE UPLOADING. I've only used v.3.5 once, but so far, so good...

    The previous posters were right on about "System Backup" - it's a no-questions-asked backup, with no options. Just use Disk & Partition Backup (selecting all partitions, if you wish, or only the System & System Reserved partitions).

    ADDENDUM: I've just reviewed your attached pictures - I hope that D: (your "save to" destination) is on a different physical disk from C:

    Zig
    Last edited by Zig; 2011-10-31 at 16:28.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •