Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts

    Firefox 8 released on Tuesday, November 8th

    You can read the whole article here:http://blog.ffextensionguru.com/2011...ru%27s+Blog%29
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Good grief, when will they stop issuing what appear to be major upgrades?

    It only seems like last month that I was quite merrily browsing away on V3.6

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    Instead of the usual 3.6, 3.7, 3.8, 3.9 etc.
    They elected to go 4.0, 5.0, 6.0, 7.0 etc. (with a few x.1's thrown in)
    Remember this. "A Rose by any other name, still has Thorns" or something like that.

    Good grief, when will they stop issuing what appear to be major upgrades?
    When they catch up to IE.
    IE8.0 or IE 9.0 sounds far advanced to FF 3.6 or FF 3.7.
    Last edited by RussB; 2011-11-07 at 08:18.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Hi All,

    I just updated my laptop to 8.0 w/o a problem. All addons seem to still work including RoboForm 7.5.4.
    Addons:
    NoScript
    FlashBlock
    GreaseMonkey
    WOT
    XMarks
    Taco
    Ad Block Plus
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Hi All,

    I just updated my laptop to 8.0 w/o a problem. All addons seem to still work
    Hi "Geekster"
    I have one more fore your "Add Ons" Forcast Fox..Weather
    It's allows you to see the radar over any area that you wish in real time...( many configurable options) Just sits on your browser ... "hover " your mouse over the Radar scope icon and Bang! you can see your whole area... and whats coming! Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    curiousclive (2011-11-30)

  7. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Fred,

    Thanks for the heads up. I'll give it a try.

    Regards,

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I ran the install with no problems. In fact, this time Mozilla was more upfront about what addons and extensions I have were not yet compatible and would be disabled until FF finds them updated. That's an improvement over the previous updates. Actually I was surprised this one took so long, they were coming once a month for a while it seemed there. This version is stable, virtually everything works except one of my IE tabs, but there are more than one so that wasn't an issue. All in all this went very well and what I like most is that they have stopped messing with my setup. One of the earlier versions went to an almost chrome like setup and I LIKE my menu tool bar and icons where I am used to them being. This version remembered all of what I had customized and didn't change any of it. I like it. :^)

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have two PCs at work and a laptop at home -- all running XP SP3.
    Yesterday, on one PC FF asked to auto-update to 8.0 from 7.0.1. I let it, even though IE Tab + 2.04.20110724 was disabled because it "is incompatible with Firerfox 8.0." All of my other Extensions (Add-ons) appeared to be OK after I got the new dialog and saw that they were checked off.
    Later, FF asked to be updated on the other PC. I let it and ALL of my Extensions were disabled. No dialog. Several restarts of FF 8.0 and then, lo' and behol', they all appeared in the Add-ons Manager with an "Enable" button. I clicked on them all, except for IE Tab +, restarted FF and there they were!
    Still later, I realized that things didn't look the same as before, on both browsers and I discovered that I had another one under "Appearance." which was "Firefox 3 theme for Firefox 4+ 1.4.0." I clicked on "enable" and after another restart on both PCs, they look fine. Obviously, I am NOT a fan of the "Default 8.0" Appearance.

    genej313: You wrote, "virtually everything works except one of my IE tabs, but there are more than one so that wasn't an issue." More than one IE Tab add-on? Which are compatible with 8.0 and which are not? Why more than one (other than this issue.) Do they do different things?

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Newbury Park, Ca., USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Chowur, I just clicked the link above and was warned by Firefox that this was an Attack page!

  11. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RobertDianella View Post
    Chowur, I just clicked the link above and was warned by Firefox that this was an Attack page!
    Funny, the other day I clicked the link, on my laptop, and no problem. Today on my desktop I got the Attack Page warning just like Robert.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  12. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Hi All,

    Just upgraded my Desktop to FF 8.0. Not nearly as painless as my laptop. I received a tab for each of my addins and had to check a box to reinstall then Restart FF. I had to reinstall RoboForm to get the FR Toolbar to display. I also had to uninstall and reinstall Email-This! it didn't auto update. All done everything works fine.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  13. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edison, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    firefox crashes on startup

    When I started Firefox this morning, it said it was applying an update and then it crashed with the Mozilla Crash Report box. When I select the restart firefox option, it crashes again, and again, and to ensure my own insanity, again and again, and because I am a slow learner, again, and again.
    Then I used IE look for help and found no reported problems/fixes for my issue. I tried inputting my mozilla crash id into a mozilla crash report site and got 'not found' errors. I tried loading firefox in safemode (holding shift key). I then downloaded firefox to install from scratch. That seemed to be a successful install, but firefox still crashes on startup. I don't see a 'select an older version' button (what I think I need until this bug is fixed. Any suggestions? Time for chrome? or?

    **Update***
    I found a 7.0.1 version which I installed and, of course, now none of my plug-ins work (and I really need my roboform plugin). Back when I was running FF 7.0.1, there were plugins that worked with that version, but evidently the plugin manager isn't capable of finding the older appropriate plugin. Seems 'wrong' to me in the sense that I would expect this to be baseline functionality for a plugin manager.

    ** Update ***
    At least FF was up. I went to the Help/Info tab and FF starting applying some updates automatically. They looked like 2-digit updates. I figured that's ok, perhaps I'll end up with 7.5.6 or something. The update process presented a screen showing a number of plugins and a note saying they would be disabled unless I selected them. I selected the ones that were of interest to me. The updates/installs completed and FF restarted and then crashed again. I am now back where I started. I can not get FF to start without crashing immediately. ARGH!!!!
    Last edited by RobG; 2011-11-11 at 10:14.

  14. #13
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Rob,

    Did you UnInstall FF before trying the new install? If not I'd try that using Revo Uninstaller, then reboot, then run CCleaner, then reboot, then Reinstall.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  15. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    In case the problem is some corruption in your Firefox profile, try starting up to the Profile Manager and create a new blank profile. You then can selectively migrate your bookmarks and other personal data (e.g., any saved passwords) to your new profile and reinstall your key add-ons.

    See: Creating a new Firefox profile on Windows @ MozillaZine Knowledge Base

    Edit: Unless/until you have a good backup of your profile folder, you probably do not want to do a complete uninstall.

  16. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA USA
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    I just upgraded to Firefox 8.0 from 7.0.1. Most add-ons work fine, including Roboform 7.6.3, WOT, etc. However, it disabled my Java 6 re 29. Did anyone else get this problem? (There is already a question on Mozillazine, but with no answer.) It also disabled an Adobe Create PDF add-on, but that also did not work in 7.0.1. If I had known about the Java issue, I would have waited to upgrade. Now, I guess I will stick it out for a few days to see if a fix emerges.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •