New Lounger
    Thanks

Need help running DOS

I'm an outboard technician. Some of the programs we use run on DOS. Luckily I have an old 386 laptop that runs one program using DOS 5.0.
    One of the programs I need to run needs DOS 6.0 or higher.
    I have laptops running XP, XP Pro and Win 7.
    None of these laptops will run the program! I tried using the Command Prompt, will not open the Com port.
    I then tried using DosBox, it opens the program but will not communicate with the engine ECU.
    I am desperate to get this program running. The program is on a 3.5 floppy as well!
    So what I need to do is to use the XP laptop to run the program as it has a floppy drive.
    What the heck can I do? The program was put out in 1999! Yet only runs in DOS.
    I can't tell you how behind the times the industry is!
    Thanks in advance.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Do you have a DOS copy?
    I think DOS is bootable from a floppy. Have a look here. Create a boot disk, maybe even add your program to the disk, then boot from the disk and run the program.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    1. WinXP and later do NOT include DOS. Thye 'Command Prompt' is an emulator (CMD.EXE) which is preobably the reason your program won't run on the laptops with those OS's.

2. Ask around if someone has a copy of DOS 6.x. You might be able to find it at a flea market or yard sale. I still have my copy.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I found a couple of old floppys with 6.22 but how would I get them to work on my XP? Would I need to partition? I've never done that. I also have a 6.22 boot disk.
    All I want to do is load the dos based program and run it from a laptop, you would think it is simple, not! Thanks

Administrator
    Thanks
    Maybe the solution would be to dual boot MS-DOS and Windows XP or MS-DOS and Windows 7.

DOS and XP: http://www.k1ea.com/hints/fdinst095.pdf