New Lounger
    Thanks

Computer's memory card reader not working

Hi, I'm new to the lounge and I have a problem.
    I have an HP Pavilion Elite with Windows 7, 64 bit, almost 2 years old. It's SD picture memory card reader worked fine a couple of days before I went on a week's vacation. When I got home it wouldn't read my picture card. My laptop read it and I could download onto the laptop, so the card is fine. I tried to update the driver, but was told that I had the latest already installed. I also did a system restore and that didn't help. Since nobody used the computer while I was away, what could have possibly have happened to it? I would appreciate any help you might give me. Thanks.

2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

+ Get this BONUS — free!

Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,128 Times in 1,040 Posts
    Hi Heide,

Welcome to the Lounge.

If there is a thing that I find very unreliable are the flash drives, cards, etc. They fail to read on one computer and then they read on the next. I think you need more evidence (other cards) to conclude definitively that your card reader is not working. Can you test it with other cards?

Administrator
    Thanks
    Does "couldn't read" mean your PC did not recognize the card or got an error trying to read it?

Joe

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Hi Heide,

Welcome to the Lounge.