katorg

Creating fill-in forms in Word

I need to create a sales order template that will enable the salespeople to fill in fields. I have never done a fill-in form template before and was wondering if anyone knows of a good source for learning how. Or maybe there are already existing templates that I could modify?

Any ideas?

Karen

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Creating fill-in forms in Word

Karen,

It's not too hard to create a fill-in form. This is the way I might do it:

Starting from a blank document
    .Show the forms toolbar (View, Toolbars, Forms)
    .Enter some on the non-fillin bits (prompots etc).
    .When you need a fill-in field, position your cursor, and click on the "ab" icon in the forms toolbar.
    .When you've done all that, click on the "Lock" icon in the forms toolbar.

That's the basics. You can also put in drop down fields and checkboxes. You can double click on any of the form fields to change properties- for instance, to add entries to a dropdown field or to only allow numeric input.

A warning- when you unlock a form, you will lose any data you've entered into form fields.
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Just to add 1 point to Geoff's suggestions. If you're going to have a form in which the user can unprotect & protect at will, then do this:
    1. Once the form is set up & BEFORE you protect it, select the document (Ctrl+A) & lock the fields (Ctrl+F11). That way, a user can still delete & change text in a field. BUT, if they unprotect & reprotect the field, at least they won't lost all the text in the text formfields (you still have to redo checkboxes & dropdowns).

If you don't need a "sophisticated" form & really are only looking for a way to navigate to different places on a form to "fill-in", there's an alternative.

You can insert a field using Ctrl+F9 for "braces" & use