Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts

    Folders Empty In XP

    I have a dual boot with W7 on one drive and XP on another drive..

    Yesterday I booted into XP.

    I have one folder in XP My Documents with a lot of sub folders...
    All the sub folders can't be opened and they show as EMPTY and they can't be opened.


    All my other folders in XP My Documents can be opened O.K

    I booted into W7 and browsed over to my XP drive with the problem folder and I can open them and see the files so that means they are not empty.

    I have no idea what is causing this and when it started.
    I have an image of XP but for all I know the image may be one with the problem.

    Any suggestions will be appreciated.
    Thanks
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Banyarola View Post
    I have a dual boot with W7 on one drive and XP on another drive..

    Yesterday I booted into XP.

    I have one folder in XP My Documents with a lot of sub folders...
    All the sub folders can't be opened and they show as EMPTY and they can't be opened.

    Any suggestions will be appreciated.
    Banyarola,
    Hello.. Sounds like a permission problem... XP can be a real pain to get it set up so you can "Take Ownership", been working another thread with this same problem .. When you "right click " on the folder and select "properties" ...Is there a "security" tab? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well Fred, like I said, I have no idea how it started or when.
    I'll boot into XP and check what you suggest but I think it does have a security tab on right click but I'll make sure..

    If it does have the security tab how do I fix it ??
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Banyarola View Post

    If it does have the security tab how do I fix it ??
    Banyarola,
    Hello...When you "Right Click" on the folder, and select "Properties"> "Security Tab"> Advanced" .You then will get a screen that you can select the "Owner Tab" It's probably now set as "System" or "Trusted Installer" ...Choose yourself as the "Owner" and "Apply". once back to the first screen click on the new owner (you) and click "Edit" and check the boxes to give yourself "Full Control" >"Apply" and "X" out. (note) sometimes the check boxes appear greyed out ... Just a MS trick. you will be able to check them. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Hmmm, I don't remember seeing those options but I could be wrong and will check it out..

    I'll boot into XP now and check it out...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Fred, I don't have those options..
    Here are screen shots...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg 2.jpg (41.8 KB, 1 views)
    • File Type: jpg 4.jpg (64.7 KB, 1 views)
    • File Type: jpg 3.jpg (74.4 KB, 1 views)
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    This is what I get when I try to open a folder.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg 1.jpg (57.6 KB, 2 views)
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Banyarola,
    Hello... OK This sounds like the problem that I'm still working on in this long thread Ownership Problems XP However if your lucky the fix is simple ...

    1. Boot into safe mode ...Note in some dual boot scenarios there will be no choice for XP... Workaround is to select XP and immediately keep tapping F-8... once into safe mode you might see the "Security Tab" appear ... seems to depend on the XP release you have... If you don't read through the linked thread somewhere around the last page i found a link to install the "Security Tab" for XP... I have also found some other "Tries" earlier in the post ... Let me know how it worked out , as this might be a help to Bob the "OP" with the same problem... Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    Banyarola (2011-11-15),royw (2011-11-19)

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    O.K Fred,,,
    I'll give it a try.

    Like you said, I think I only have safe mode for W7.

    What gets me is that this is the first time this ever happened to me..

    Thanks for your time..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  11. #10
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well Freddie boy, after unsuccessfully trying to safe boot into XP 850 times, I finally got in.

    It took awhile to fix but I got it done and it's back to normal...

    There were several users, all of which were me and I had to just pick the right one..

    Thanks Fred, I appreciate your help... I'll email WS Admin about what you did so there may be a little something extra in your check this week..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  12. #11
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    It's nasty, of course, but when one OS like 7 can actually see another OS drive like XP, there can be and often times WILL BE some interaction between the two OS's. I won't go into the Gory Details, but having experienced some interaction between OS's, on separate HD's, I just enable one drive at a time, usually with the power plugs, to insure that only one OS at a time is available to the system.
    It's like the old railroad saying, "Never the trains shall meet".

    Good Luck,
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  13. #12
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well DrWhat, you may be right in that opinion because I do browse over to XP while in 7 to grab a file or check something...

    After I got the ownership of the missing files I then had problems booting into XP...I would get the desktop and then things would just freeze..

    I discovered, after two day that the freeze was being caused my MaywareBytes Pro trying to load and it couldn't.

    I had to boot back in in safe mode, uninstall it using Revo to get rid of everything and then booted normally into XP and things worked and no freezes.

    Then I re-installed MWB Pro and that worked fine and things are back to normal...

    I wont browse over there any more..

    Thanks for your input..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  14. #13
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Just for future reference, the Security tab is viewable in XP Pro's normal mode, but is only viewable in XP Home via Safe Mode.

  15. #14
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well Deadeye, when this problem popped up I spent a few days trying to fix it myself...
    I don't like to ask for help so quick...Except for the time I misplaced my leather shorts..

    Problems can be a real learning experience....
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  16. #15
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Very true Banyarola, we all learn a great deal more when we dig for solutions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •