Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    a .jse file trying to phone home

    This morning my firewall advised me systemAgeDetect.jse was trying to connect to the internet. My google search turned up one reference and it isn't possible to get to that, bad gateway error each time.

    So does anyone know anything about that file? I surmise from its name that it might be something HP is doing - I have an HP Pavilion, 4GB Ram, Win 7 64bit Home Premium that is about 18 months old. Appreciate any insight anyone might have about this file. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Does the firewall provide any other info? IP address, port used?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Does the firewall provide any other info? IP address, port used?
    It did, but in my looking around, it appears it is a Microsoft file, so I allowed the connection. Ip was 75.75.75 something and a port 8000's, might have been 8800. Not helpful I know.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Does the firewall keep a log? The real IP seems relevant, since that range of IPs is said to be assigned to Comcast, not Microsoft.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    genej313 (2011-11-16)

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Does the firewall keep a log? The real IP seems relevant, since that range of IPs is said to be assigned to Comcast, not Microsoft.
    Comcast is my ISP. And I run Comodo which does keep a log file. The full name for that file indicates it is an HP application. So I expect they'll be trying to sell me something given the age of my machine. :^). What it did was to disallow Microsoft System Certificates, which I seem to recall reading about in the newsletter, a problem with them, so it appears HP was taking proactive, action. I hope.
    Last edited by genej313; 2011-11-16 at 11:35.

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Well it's always reassuring to know what is calling where. Glad you found it .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •