Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger Craigburleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belmont, CA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win7 - no-reformat non-destructive reinstall - ungraded to Pro from Home ??

    I have a few problems with my system and wish to reinstall as per the article by Fred Langa - because I updated to the Pro version from Home Premium it's stalling - in the Uninstall area I can see the SP1 update, but don't see anything showing the upgrade from Home Premium - if I just uninstall the SP1 do you think that will do it or do you know how to find the upgrade to Pro and how to uninstall it. (I have my original Home Premium disk, but of course the upgrade to Pro is just a serial #.
    Thanks for your help.
    Craig.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hi,

    Welcome to the Lounge.

    Download a legitimate ISO version for 7 Pro SP1, burn it to disk and use it to perform the reinstall:

    http://www.mydigitallife.info/offici...digital-river/

  3. #3
    New Lounger Craigburleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belmont, CA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks Ruirib - will download and asee how it works. Take care. Craig.

    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Hi,

    Welcome to the Lounge.

    Download a legitimate ISO version for 7 Pro SP1, burn it to disk and use it to perform the reinstall:

    http://www.mydigitallife.info/offici...digital-river/
    Thanks Ruirib - will download and see how it works. Take care. Craig.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You're welcome.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The .iso file should work fine. This has been out for quite a while and many have used it to enable what you are doing without having to uninstall SP1. Plus it will save some time after the fact.

    Be advised that this procedure does not work 100 % of the time, but works more than enough to try it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    One caveat, if your original operating system disk is of OEM type you may not be able to install with your OEM's product key
    without some significant alterations.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I have heard of others who had an OEM key that worked fine. This may be related to the less than 100% effectiveness of this procedure. Others have found that even though the OEM did not activate the first try, a simple call to MS solved the problem.

    There are so many various setups out there that no one procedure will work for everyone.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    New Lounger Craigburleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belmont, CA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks guys - all installed OK

    I did have to call MS to have them give me a new code as it wouldn't register with my Pro anytime upgrade key, but they sorted me out and the system is working fine - needed to do about 42 updates - I guess that the ISO is not totally up to date on a daily basis!
    Thanks for all the help. Take care. Craig

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The .iso file is only up to date to the point it was created, which is definitely NOT daily. Glad everything worked well for you. MS is generally very accommodating with legitimate users.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    The iso file is for Windows 7 SP1. All updates later than the SP 1 release date will not be included there.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •