Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 59
  1. #31
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    My Computer- where ever i am, it is
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i tried it again and got the same results- stops installing at the 21-22% level when Expanding Window files and the reverts back to the original blue install screen.

    the only particular event- while installing i was never asked for the product key. not now and not before. i do not know if that is significant or not.

    but on the bright side- now i am learning how to use daemon tools. <smiles>

  2. #32
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    These steps seem to be different (differences bolded):

    3. Click Do not get latest updates for installation

    4. When we are prompted to input the product key, please click Next without inputting any key. The setup wizard will prompt and ask if you want to enter product key now. Please choose to No.

    HTH. Cheers, -- fej

  3. #33
    Star Lounger Erniek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scottish Borders
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    This was\is a known issue when W7 sp1 was released. (failed to complete installation of sp1). See the following link for further info on this Google search result concerning this issue.
    http://www.google.com/search?client=...w=1067&bih=479
    THIS LINK IS NOT WORKING SEE POST BELOW

    It can and does work sometimes. The best way to bring your system upto date is by using a slipstreamed Win 7 disk. See this link for further info.
    http://www.google.com/search?client=...iw=523&bih=479
    THIS LINK IS NOT WORKING SEE POST BELOW

    Providing you have been installing win updates\patches as released there is not that much to be gained by installing it. (Again see Susans' recommendations)
    Last edited by Erniek; 2011-12-01 at 06:40. Reason: To notify about non-working links
    ErnieK

  4. #34
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,173
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    I would report those results to the Microsoft tech who advised you before. I would also be getting ready to accept that you may need to go through a clean install to get your system up to speed.

  5. #35
    Star Lounger Erniek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scottish Borders
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    It looks like the links I posted are not working. So do a search for
    Windows 7 sp1 failed install
    This will bring up the page I originally posted.

    For the 2nd link do a search for
    slipstream winds 7 sp1
    This will bring up the second link I posted.

    I do not know why the google links are not working.
    ErnieK

  6. #36
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,173
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Erniek View Post
    It looks like the links I posted are not working. So do a search for
    Windows 7 sp1 failed install
    This will bring up the page I originally posted.

    For the 2nd link do a search for
    slipstream winds 7 sp1
    This will bring up the second link I posted.

    I do not know why the google links are not working.
    This is not an SP1 installation issue. This is a failure of a Windows 7 reinstall attempt. How is a slipstreamed version superior to a Windows 7 installation disk that already includes SP1?

  7. #37
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    My Computer- where ever i am, it is
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fej View Post
    These steps seem to be different (differences bolded):

    3. Click Do not get latest updates for installation

    4. When we are prompted to input the product key, please click Next without inputting any key. The setup wizard will prompt and ask if you want to enter product key now. Please choose to No.

    HTH. Cheers, -- fej
    good observation fej

    i have never been prompted to input the product key whether i do or not do - the latest updates for installation.

    Thanks

  8. #38
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    My Computer- where ever i am, it is
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    I would report those results to the Microsoft tech who advised you before. I would also be getting ready to accept that you may need to go through a clean install to get your system up to speed.
    ruirib- i have a good working drive image backup and i am almost ready to stop finding the answer. too much time wasting. never had this happen before.

  9. #39
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,173
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    I understand that, Stephen. I must say that I have never seen another member reporting something similar to what is happening with you. All attempts I read bout here were successful (and they were quite a few). Even more, it seems to be hard to understand what is going on. Did you get to try and see if any of the Windows log files in my link above provide any info on the cause of the failure?

  10. #40
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    My Computer- where ever i am, it is
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i sent the log files to Windows 7 tech support. (s)he did not comment on it.

  11. #41
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,173
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    Did you have a look at them? I guess a specific error message could be worth the effort to try to solve the underlying issue. Otherwise, I would probably go with the clean install route.

  12. #42
    Star Lounger Erniek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scottish Borders
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    ruirib
    This is not an SP1 installation issue. This is a failure of a Windows 7 reinstall attempt. How is a slipstreamed version superior to a Windows 7 installation disk that already includes SP1?
    I stand corrected I should have taken more time and read a second time. I am hanging my head in embarrassment.
    ErnieK

  13. #43
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,173
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Erniek View Post
    ruirib


    I stand corrected I should have taken more time and read a second time. I am hanging my head in embarrassment.
    No worries, that happens .

  14. #44
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If your original install of Win 7 was without SP1 and was updated to SP1, you will have to uninstall SP1 before you can do a repair install. You have to use the same version as the original install or the repair will not work. Fred has covered this in his article
    http://windowssecrets.com/top-story/...ive-reinstall/


    Mel

  15. #45
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,173
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mehoop1506 View Post
    If your original install of Win 7 was without SP1 and was updated to SP1, you will have to uninstall SP1 before you can do a repair install. You have to use the same version as the original install or the repair will not work. Fred has covered this in his article
    http://windowssecrets.com/top-story/...ive-reinstall/


    Mel
    If a Windows 7 with SP1 disk is used, the repair doesn't require the SP1 removal. Actually, you cannot remove it, if you want to use a Windows disk with SP1.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •