Lounger
    Thanks

Macrium Reflect-which source drives to image

I am using the free version 5. I am unsure which drives I want to copy.I would be using this image to restore a usable copy of my computer if I needed to go back to a previous working date.I am a novice.
    Macrium.PNG

Gold Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Rothie View Post
    I am using the free version 5. I am unsure which drives I want to copy.I would be using this image to restore a usable copy of my computer if I needed to go back to a previous working date.
    Rothie,
    Hello... You want to copy the whole Hard drive ...The Y: is your "Factory" recovery partition , and the C: is your operating system ... not sure what the small first partition is ...Here is my reasoning

1. If you copy the entire drive with the 3 partitions ...You could select any one partition to "Recover" or the whole thing ...choice would be up to you...

2. Once you have the whole disk Image ... you can then from that point just Image the C: ( your OS ) and keep a few as you go on ...Deleting the old ones after a while ...Most save at least 3 of about a months worth.

3. Save the Images to an External or second Internal HD if possible ... External would be the best ... You can even save the Images to DVD's... although not the best choice .Reason being ...Looks like you only have one HD and if you store the "Images" on the same drive your trying to protect ....When it goes "belly up" you would loose your Images... Regards Fred

PS make sure that you "burn " the recovery disk and that you can "boot" from it...And it "Sees" your images.
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-11-22 at 14:35.
    PlainFred

None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

Lounger
    Thanks