Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts

    Angry Event Viewer ID 6008

    Hi Loungers.
    Everytime my Laptop was shutdown from 28 Oct. (I used the 'Shutdown' button in the start menu everytime.) I have got the same message in Event Viewer ID 6008 as in text.
    -
    Log Name: System
    Source: EventLog
    Date: 23/11/2011 02:36:51
    Event ID: 6008
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Laptop
    Description:
    The previous system shutdown at 02:35:28 on ‎23/‎11/‎2011 was unexpected.
    Any ideas ?

    RR.jpg
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    Some component or service in Windows did not terminate cleanly. Was it completely off when you closed the laptop cover? I have found that if I don't wait to close the cover until the laptop is fully powered off, I will often see these messages.
    Chuck

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    All programs were closed prior to clicking 'Shut down' power was turned OFF and the light OUT before closing the lid.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Did you install any updates or programs on the 28th?

    Have you checked what services are running when you start the shutdown?

    Joe

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Did you install any updates or programs on the 28th?

    Will check Later.

    Have you checked what services are running when you start the shutdown?

    Joe
    Yes.

    RR.jpg
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Well, I never use or look at event viewer, so I'm not bothered by anything it might say. Eh?

    Having said that, as for the shutdown, I've not used that "Start +" method in many years.
    In Windows 98 I started using a quick shutdown icon on my desktop and I've continued using
    that method to shut down my PC thru ME, XP, Vista and Win7. Now using it in Win8 DP testing.

    The shortcut used for XP seems to work just as well for Vista, Win-7 and Win-8.
    Here's the shortcut you can put on your own desktop for a quick and safe shutdown.
    Just copy and paste the blue line into a New Desktop shortcut.

    %windir%\System32\shutdown.exe -s -t 00 -f

    It works! So use it or don't use it, as you please.

    Happy Holidays Everyone!

    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi DrWho,

    I'm afraid I'm one of these part time geeks (junior) who likes thing to work.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I'd disable the various updaters that are active one at a time. Then shutdown and see if you still get the error.

    Joe

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Does Windows complain when started or is this just something you see in the event log?

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    I'd disable the various updaters that are active one at a time. Then shutdown and see if you still get the error.

    Joe
    Do you mean Secunia and Java. They are the only ones I can think of.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    Does Windows complain when started or is this just something you see in the event log?
    Laptop always starts normally.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Did you install any updates or programs on the 28th?

    Joe
    Sorry for the delay in replying.

    1.jpg

    2.jpg

    3.jpg
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Do you mean Secunia and Java. They are the only ones I can think of.
    I see OpenDNSupdater. I'd also disable the WinPatrol system monitor.

    Joe

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Laptop always starts normally.
    This begs the question, what problem are you trying to solve?

    If Windows thought there was a problem with the previous shutdown, it wouldn't start normally.
    Last edited by Browni; 2011-11-25 at 23:45.

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    I see OpenDNSupdater. I'd also disable the WinPatrol system monitor.

    Joe
    I will remove them to see what happens.

    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    This begs the question, what problem are you trying to solve?

    If Windows thought there was a problem with the previous shutdown, it wouldn't start normally.
    Good point. I have also noticed that shut down & start up is taking longer.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •