Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    394
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Change user's "Name" in windows explorer folder laptop;

    In my laptop "Vista" on install I have but one account w/admin permission but also on install it ask for a name (don't rem when or why) but under windows explorer it shows my "Name" under the Users folder, I want to get my name off and chg it to any other name other than mine.

    How is this done?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    3 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    394
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Humm, am I in for a new install ?
    Last edited by Jagworld; 2011-11-30 at 19:06.

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Control Panel, User Accounts. Will "Change your account name" solve your problem.

    You also could create a new user account and delete the old, but this would seem to be more involved than the above.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,059
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,114 Times in 1,026 Posts
    I believe changing the user name won't change the folder structure. The only way to solve it is to create a new account and move everything there.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Jagworld (2011-12-01)

  7. #5
    3 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    394
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    @ruirib;
    Thanks, Yes -- that's what I found out, it doesn't chg the folder name or give any other options there to chg the folder name.

    I can create another account ---- and you said "move everything there", meaning just copy & paste ??

  8. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,059
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,114 Times in 1,026 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jagworld View Post
    @ruirib;
    Thanks, Yes -- that's what I found out, it doesn't chg the folder name or give any other options there to chg the folder name.

    I can create another account ---- and you said "move everything there", meaning just copy & paste ??
    Yes, copying the files you may need.

    There may be a better way to do it. Have a look at this, including the last post that suggests a way to activate the copy button for the desired profile.
    Last edited by ruirib; 2011-12-01 at 07:15.

  9. #7
    3 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    394
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I can't get a warm fuzzie feeling about all the examples of exactly "what to do" that's absolutely positive, I'm going to give up trying to change the folder's name as changing the folder name just isn't worth it.

    I've tried everything mentioned in the posts here and some what hesitant about venturing to other web sites.

    I appreciate all the suggestions.

  10. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,059
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,114 Times in 1,026 Posts
    One easy brute force way is simply to copy all the stuff you need from one account to the other, from the new account. Use TakeOwnership to access the existing account's folders, if you need to.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •