3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Exporting sheets with multiple links

I have a master standard monthly accounts workbook that holds project details and summaries for 100 projects. Each month I run a macro that: 1 Extracts detailed project data from Access for a selected project, and copies this data into my standard spreadsheet. 2 Updates an associated linked forecasting sheet. 3 Copies the project data sheets and the forecasting sheet into a new workbook. 4 Breaks all the links from the new project workbook to the master workbook. 5 Saves the new project workbook as the project name. 6 Closes the new project workbook. I can run the above macro for a single project or a selection of projects as I require. Project reporting covers costs for multiple years and multiple currencies with a considerable number of linked cells within the master workbook. The above macro has run successfully since 2009. However since we moved to excel 2007, steps 3, 4 and 5 take considerably longer than they did under excel 2003 (5 minutes to run the process for a single project rather than 1 minute). Also when I re-enact steps 3 to 5 manually they do not take as long as when I enact them through the macro. Can anybody advise on why this is taking so much longer and how to speed up steps 3 to 5. The following points are also relevant: 1 I have already turned of auto caculate. 2 I cannot copy and past values from the master workbook, as the links that exist in the master need to be maintained in the new project workbook. Thanks for any help that may be forthcoming.

2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

+ Get this BONUS — free!