Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts

    Angry Firefox: different versions on each of two PCs

    Hi Loungers,

    I have 2 computers, (see my PC Specs in my Signature) both have FF as the default browser. Why am I getting different versions ?

    RR.jpg
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Was one updated manually the other through "Help>About"?
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Russ,

    the one on my Laptop was done automatically, when I tried the manual method on my Desktop, as you stated, I was shown it as being 'Up to Date'
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Go to the tools/options/advanced button and then update tab in each and see if they are set the same.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Withyham, Sussex, England
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Is one a 32 bit and the other 64 bit? OK just seen the pc spec in your signature so you can ignore this.
    Last edited by gws; 2011-12-10 at 12:25.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ldb View Post
    Go to the tools/options/advanced button and then update tab in each and see if they are set the same.
    the settings are the same, but show different versions as described.

    RR.JPG
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When you look in Help>About in both browsers, are they both on the same update channel, i.e., release, alpha, beta or nightly?

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    When FF was updated to version 7.0.1 it didn't perform too well on my pc's, so they were totally removed using Revo Uninstaller, and replaced on both pc's using the same EXE file.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,238
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 165 Times in 128 Posts
    For instance, if you have ver. 3.6.x on a PC and FF updates, it will only update to the latest sub version under 3.6, it will not, for instance, update you to ver. 8.0
    It will only update within the version you're using.

    If you want the latest and greatest, find and download ver. FF 8.0.1 and install it on all your PC's.
    http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all.html

    When it installs, it will pick up all your Bookmarks, history, etc. There is NO need to uninstall your older version.

    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DrWho View Post
    For instance, if you have ver. 3.6.x on a PC and FF updates, it will only update to the latest sub version under 3.6, it will not, for instance, update you to ver. 8.0
    It will only update within the version you're using.

    If you want the latest and greatest, find and download ver. FF 8.0.1 and install it on all your PC's.
    http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all.html

    When it installs, it will pick up all your Bookmarks, history, etc. There is NO need to uninstall your older version.

    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor
    I'm not really bothered, FF is working well on both pc's. Thanks
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •