Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Using Event Viewer

    I have a problem with Win 7 repeatedly waking out of sleep mode for the last 2-3 months. It seems to be the Realtek LAN controller which does it (according to the 'powercfg' command. I am assuming that some program needs to connect to the Internet and I wonder if Event viewer can help me track down the offending program. I know very little about Event Viewer, and would like to be pointed in the right direction to do some diagnosis?
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi David, check this:-

    RR.JPG
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Using RR's settings above should cure your problem.

    If it still persists, look into task scheduler settings and see if any programs are set to wake the computer.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Actually my main computer is hard wired to a Bell 2-wire modem. A few times a week, I use a laptop, wireless linked to the same modem, to wake the main machine out of sleep mode, so I have to select to allow the LAN card to wake the main machine. I did this for around 8 months before the recent problem of waking every 5 minutes or so. If I pull the LAN cable on the modem, or prevent the LAN controller from waking the machine, I have no problem, but then cannot use the laptop without manually waking the main machine. I cannot see anything unusual in Task sheduler, hence my question about the Event Viewer having a trace of what is waking the machine. Bell have replaced the modem, and now say it must be an OS or software problem
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi David,
    Look in the 'Reliability Monitor' by typing it in start menu search box.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Nothing for weeks except daily Security Essentials updates, a very clean log
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dpollock View Post
    I am assuming that some program needs to connect to the Internet
    "DP",
    Hello... Have you checked Power Options? Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I checked Power Options, and also set to allow wake on 'Magic Packet only' for the LAN card
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    See Powercfg Command Line Options. You want to use the "lastwake" option.

    Joe

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have been using powercfg - that's what tells me that it is the Realtek card waking the machine. What it can't tell me is what program tried to use the LAN modem and woke it up. Bell say that their modem will poll the LAN card perhaps twice a day, not every five minutes.
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    How about a screen shot of active processes?

    Joe

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Joe,

    Here are a couple of snips. I see nothing that I have not seen before,
    Attached Images Attached Images
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    I'd disable any automatic update processes to see if that helps. If it does then I'd re-enable one at a time until I could identify the culprit.

    Joe

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Maybe a dumb question - but How do I find 'automatic update processes'?
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •