Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    win7and 32bit program

    I have a (legit) program but it is a 32 bit design. Someone has told me that win7 can be set up so that it (win7) can switch to 32bit mode whenever I want to run said 32bit prog. Is this so - and how do I proceed please?
    B

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    B, Welcome to the lounge.

    Win 7, whether 32 Bit or 64 Bit can run almost all 32 Bit apps natively. You do not have to set anything up. Just install the app and have fun. Any that do not work natively you can generally run in Compatibility Mode or check out How To Geek.

    If on the other hand you had some old 16 Bit apps, you would need to use a virtual XP environment for those.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-12-13 at 10:55.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Ted
    My prog comes in the 'almost all' part of your answer. No can do. I tried it when I first got the Win7 laptop. A 64bit version of the prog has just been released but at a whopping cost! Do you have any other suggestions please
    b

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    b,

    ??What is the program?? ??Have you tried compatibility mode??

    Zig

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Zig.
    Prog is Money Manager from Moneysoft. No haven't tried it -where do I find it please?
    b

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    See the links in my original post. I link 2 sites that talk about compatibility mode.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •