Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    SuperAntiSpyware keeps getting threats ??

    I check/run about once a week the scan and keep getting "all most" the same 18 threats related to ad ware cookies.

    1) is this normal ?

    2) should I also have a ad-ware program running?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    If all your getting is ad ware cookies, I would not be concerned. A better way is to set CCleaner to run with Task Scheduler.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Roderunner For This Useful Post:

    Jagworld (2011-12-19)

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Good idea Roderunner !!
    This is in my XP pro partition, don't seem to get them in my W7 disk but anyway I'll look into that.

  5. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Having 2 computers, if I find a scan is required, due to 'odd' things happening on 1 of themI download http://www.superantispyware.com/portablescanner.html using the other one and save to a thumb drive.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #5
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks but I don't have any 'odd' things happening yet, I was just wondering about it when doing my weekly maintenance.

    I can assume that its nothing to worry about..... right!!!

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Right, I only use SAS portable when needed. CCleaner weekly.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #7
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    For reasons unknown; I've never used the many growing portable apps,
    question= when you run SAS portable, does it install on that disk and does it up-date at the time of running?

  9. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    When I run SAS, it gets downloaded before use then discarded after its used. That way, it has the latest updates. I use it in 'Safe Mode'. It does not get installed as it uses a DOS command. This is one of many portables I use.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •