Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albany, GA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Microsoft Windows 7 updates; continuing problem

    I too haven't had an update in a while. I started checking and it appears Windows 7 won't update because it can't connect to the internet. This is really strange since I can email and browse just fine. AVG free says i'm virus free. I ran the troubleshooter with no fix.

    Any ideas folks?

    wd4

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Did you have a specific error message?

    Have you checked the event logs?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Also run Malwarebytes and tddskiller . I would also check Control Panel > Internet options> connections tab > Lan Settings button and make sure "Use a Proxy Server ..." is not set and verify your Hosts file hasn't been tampered with. (C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts).

    Jerry

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albany, GA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks folks for the ideas. I'll check when I get back home to that machine.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albany, GA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    spybot clean
    malwarebytes clean
    TDSSKiller clean
    no proxy server set
    How do I tell if Hosts file has been tampered with?

    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Also run Malwarebytes and tddskiller . I would also check Control Panel > Internet options> connections tab > Lan Settings button and make sure "Use a Proxy Server ..." is not set and verify your Hosts file hasn't been tampered with. (C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts).

    Jerry

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albany, GA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here is what I did:
    Control Panel > Windows Update > Searching for updates. Then get "Windows could not search for new updates. An error occured while checking for new updates for your computer. Error(s) found: Code 80072EFD Windows Update encountered an unknown error."

    To my knowlege, I have no firewall running.

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Did you have a specific error message?

    Have you checked the event logs?

    Joe

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albany, GA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I also see that Secunia PSI 2.0 scan will not run. Scan aborts a few seconds after I start it.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I assume you read this page and have done as suggested?

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows-vista/Windows-Update-error-80072efd


    Y
    ou will have Windows 7 firewall running unless you have disabled it. However, it should automatically allow access.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albany, GA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I turned firewall off a while back but I will verify that it hasn't been turned on again by some update. I will check when I get home tonight. I've tried several times to update with the same error message.

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by mandarin View Post
    I assume you read this page and have done as suggested?

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows-vista/Windows-Update-error-80072efd


    Y
    ou will have Windows 7 firewall running unless you have disabled it. However, it should automatically allow access.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    You might try the Fixit at Windows 7 Update error 80072EFD.

    Joe

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As to your question about your hosts file being tampered with, normally, you won't have anything in there that isn't commented out (# in front of the line.) If you have anything in there about any of the the microsoft.com sites, comment out those lines, and see if that helps.

    Tim

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albany, GA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hasn't worked so far. It agrees there is a problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    You might try the Fixit at Windows 7 Update error 80072EFD.

    Joe

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Your host file should look something like this normally.>

    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost


    If there is anything else in there especially without the hash in front then delete the lines and save the file.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albany, GA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK; Windows firewall is off.

    Hosts file has LOTS of entries put there by Spybot. See below for sample. List goes on for pages. No Microsoft.com entries. Hosts file modification date was Sep 2010. If correct, I haven't had the problem for that long. Should I just uninstall spybot and see? I assume uninstall removes these entries.

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost
    # Start of entries inserted by Spybot - Search & Destroy
    127.0.0.1 www.007guard.com
    127.0.0.1 007guard.com
    127.0.0.1 008i.com
    127.0.0.1 www.008k.com
    127.0.0.1 008k.com
    127.0.0.1 www.00hq.com
    127.0.0.1 00hq.com
    127.0.0.1 010402.com
    127.0.0.1 www.032439.com
    127.0.0.1 032439.com
    127.0.0.1 www.0scan.com
    127.0.0.1 0scan.com
    127.0.0.1 1000gratisproben.com
    127.0.0.1 www.1000gratisproben.com
    127.0.0.1 1001namen.com
    127.0.0.1 www.1001namen.com
    127.0.0.1 100888290cs.com
    127.0.0.1 www.100888290cs.com
    127.0.0.1 www.100sexlinks.com
    127.0.0.1 100sexlinks.com
    127.0.0.1 10sek.com
    127.0.0.1 www.10sek.com
    127.0.0.1 www.1-2005-search.com
    127.0.0.1 1-2005-search.com
    127.0.0.1 123fporn.info
    127.0.0.1 www.123fporn.info
    127.0.0.1 123haustiereundmehr.com

    etc etc

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You could try resetting Windows Update by following the instructions here .

    Jerry

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •