Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry How to remove Network Location Shortcut that hangs

    I created an FTP shortcut I cannot delete.
    To create, I right clicked Computer in Windows Explorer, selected Add a Network location and entered the values.
    Now, when I try to select it in any way (left or right clicking it) the window stops responding.
    I have another shortcut I created that pops up the log on dialog box when I click it and right clicking on it opens a list of options with Delete being one of them.

    How do I remove this failed attempt?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,963
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Never used this for FTP, but if you open Windows Explorer and click Alt -> Tools then choose Disconnect Network Drive, does it show there?

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried that (just now) but No Items matched my search.

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Is it possible to boot into safe mode and attempt the delete in safe mode?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Booting into safe mode (without networking) worked. Thank you for the suggestion as obvious as it was. Sometimes we just forget to try the easy stuff first!

    I suspect the problem was caused by the system trying to connect when I clicked on it and could not, thus causing it to hang. I know this doesn't explain why right clicking on it caused the same thing to happen, but it's my best guess.

    Perhaps the lack of network access when I booted in Safe Mode prevented it from hanging because it could not even try to connect.

    If I had my brain fully on, I would have tried just turning off my modem and then trying it.

    Thanks for your help!

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Glad I was able to help. It is sometimes hardest to see the easiest answers.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •