Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    blank "Advanced" window in Internet Properties

    Windows 7 64bit with latest updates.

    This started with my wife being unable to play videos her friends sent. (The appropriate software for that is installed.) But in looking into the issue I found that the window under the Advanced tab for Internet Properties is blank. I've tried the "Restore advanced settings" and the "Reset" buttons, no joy. Also looked around on the internet but haven't found any helpful suggestions yet.

    Short of reinstall of her system I'm stuck.

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've tried this http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...anced-tab.html both options 1 and 2.

    With option 2 I can't open gpedit.msc The system seems to think the is a very early version of IE installed, it is IE9.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Try a system restore to a date prior to the issue.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jerry,

    Unfortunately too long ago to figure out. I've got server backups but the same problem, i.e. I'm not sure when her problem started.

    I have uninstalled IE9 and the advanced window now exists but it looks nothing like the one on my machine. By that I mean just a couple boxes, not a long list that is normal to me.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Are you sure you have nor been infected? This sounds like something it might take a repair install to fix, unless one of your previous Images would do the trick, but since you are not sure when it started, it would be hard to decide where to restore to. I would back up my data and just try a restore to see what happens. In my case system restores onlt take about 10 minutes so I would start checking various Images to find the latest that works effectively and go with it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ted,

    I can't absolutely guarantee that it isn't infected but I run AV, malware, firewall etc. protection on all my machines (and they are up to date). A scan for all the potential problems doesn't show anything.

    I think it is time to try a repair followed a clean install if it comes to that.

    Thanks for your suggestions folks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •