Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bloomington, MN, USA
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Angry What the h3ll is MSE doing?!

    It seems like every time my system bogs down and becomes unresponsive, Task Manager shows MsMpEng sucking up 50% of my CPU.
    I am using Microsoft Security Essentials antivirus on my Pentium 4 PC running Windows XP Pro SP3. Occasionally my PC seems to stall. For example, right now I have run a file search, and have a "Search Results" window open with about 250 files listed. Every time I try to scroll the window (drag the scroll bar), my system just hangs for 15 - 30 seconds. I've found that when this happens, MsMpEng.exe process has sucked up 50% of my CPU cycles, and nothing else can run. What is MsMpEng doing, and why does it do it every time I try to scroll this window?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    You are likley seeing that MSE is scanning. Either a HDD or the searched file list. Go through the settings that you have for MSE and make some adjustments.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    The single core Pentium 4 is a tad bit ancient. You realy do need to tightly control what is going to be run and when.
    I know some of you elderly folks think the Pentium 4 just came out not long ago, but it isn't so, that's dementia setting in.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Old hardware plus old OS equals slow scans. Unfortunately you are seeing this phenomenon first hand.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    The other thing it could be doing is a virus signature update. Its quite common to find MSE using a lot of CPU resource at boot time to do the update. If you don't have at least a gigabyte of memory on XP, You will find MSE doing a lot of paging to disk at boot time.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I was using an old Dell D600 (Pentium 4m) until this past fall, and had the same issues. You MUST control when MSE runs. Set it up to run at night, or during your lunch, or whatever.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger Vincenzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    If the issue occurs when MSE is not scanning your system, I'd suggest uninstalling/reinstalling MSE, or trying a different A/V. I've seen MSE create slowdowns like this, fixed them with a re-install. And make sure there are no other A/V's or other programs that have resident scanners.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Also, do you have enough working RAM? Lack of RAM can cause slowdowns. And MSE is a memory hog. To find out how much you are using, which is very easy, just run Task Manager (either Ctrl-Alt-Del, or Ctrl-Shift-Esc, or Start - Run - taskmgr)

    Under the Performance tab, check two figures: Physical Memory Total (top right) amd Commit Charge Total (lower left).

    The Physical needs to exceed the Commit by a reasonable working margin. If you can post your figures here, I'm sure someone will be able to comment.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •