Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    Malwarebytes 1.60

    Hello all,
    Just found this Malwarebytes 1.60 Free version Keep in mind that the free version does not run in real time ...Only the pay for ...but it's a bargain (one time $$ ) Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Fred, that update is also for the paid version...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Mine was automatically updated when I opened it. I wondered why my wife was talking about MalwareBytes last night but I was too tired after work to listen.

    Edit: Hmmm, it seems that MalwareBytes did exactly what everyone has been complaining against MS for doing in the past, pushing a version update without our being given the opportunity to decide if we wanted it, hmmm.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-12-29 at 06:18.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    I was offered a 'deal' about a week ago consisting of the paid version on new MalwareBytes 1.6 and Acronis (didn't take it as I am happy with Reflect) but yesterday when I went to run Malwarebytes (free) scan on one of our computers, it did automatically load the new version.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by midnight View Post
    I was offered a 'deal' about a week ago consisting of the paid version on new MalwareBytes 1.6 and Acronis (didn't take it as I am happy with Reflect) but yesterday when I went to run Malwarebytes (free) scan on one of our computers, it did automatically load the new version.
    midnight,
    Hello... You can select how you want Malwarebytes to behave ... Just checkout the "Settings Tab" Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    midnight (2011-12-29)

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Thanks Fred, I see that now. I do not recall if the recently replaced version had this option or not. Personally, I do not mind this being set to Auto, but some might.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Most stuff I keep off auto except Maleawre bytes and my virus...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  9. #8
    2 Star Lounger cyberdiva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Edit: Hmmm, it seems that MalwareBytes did exactly what everyone has been complaining against MS for doing in the past, pushing a version update without our being given the opportunity to decide if we wanted it, hmmm.
    I'm pretty sure I was given a choice. I was told that Malwarebytes either had downloaded or would download the new version, and did I want to close MBAM and permit the update. I could say yes or no (well, probably yes or later). I held off for a while, especially since when I went to the Malwarebytes forum, I found many people complaining about problems with the new version. Today, though, I set a restore point, temporarily disabled the Windows Firewall, and then went ahead and installed the update. Knock on wood, all seems well.

    I might add that almost any time I'm offered a new version of a software program that I have, and any time I'm told about supposed malware on my system, the first thing I do is go to the forum of the relevant software company and see whether people are happy or are running into problems. With malware warnings, on the few occasions where I've had such warnings, they've turned out to be false positives, and checking the forum before doing anything else has saved me from needless worry and wasted time.
    Last edited by cyberdiva; 2011-12-30 at 15:48.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •