Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wink Help delete running backup

    please tell how to delete running backup on XP SP3 laptop. forgotten its source! ms backup says nothing running.thin blue line appears every few mins saying "processing file" flings me to desktop for 1 sec then I click and am back on where ever I was before. its copying every item devotedly! thanks a bundle and Happiest New Year to Everybody! aviva

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    Not a backup program I've seen. Re-booting the computer should stop it.

    cheers, Paul

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    avivamax (2012-01-09)

  4. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Have you checked Task Manager to see what processes are active?

    Joe

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    avivamax (2012-01-09)

  6. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    If you use task manager to check for runing processes, be sure to click the "show processes for all users button". You might also want to use autoruns and check the items under task scheduler as well as login or just look in the everthing tab.

    Jerry

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    avivamax (2012-01-09)

  8. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by avivamax View Post
    please tell how to delete running backup on XP SP3 laptop.
    aviva,
    Hello... Do you have a 3rd party Imaging software ? Like Acronis etc. That has a "Non stop backup " feature...I know that XP has a "Restore Point" and "Back Up" feature perhaps it's trying to run ...see screen shot for a place to start looking...Also where is the folder placed that your OS is backing up to? Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    avivamax (2012-01-09)

  10. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    thanks to ALL who so kindly advised me

    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    aviva,
    Hello... Do you have a 3rd party Imaging software ? Like Acronis etc. That has a "Non stop backup " feature...I know that XP has a "Restore Point" and "Back Up" feature perhaps it's trying to run ...see screen shot for a place to start looking...Also where is thTe folder placed that your OS is backing up to? Regards Fred
    Thanks to Everyone who kindly advised me-Luv U!
    and am following all your tips and will return and tell u the result!I can't find Any folder in the registry or anywhere Plain Fred-but I'll do everything u say and then if still nogo I'll go to Cnet or Gizmo.collect backups names and search again;aviva

  11. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks Jerry please tell me where the everything tab is if you're still out there! thanks again aviva

  12. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    You should be in the Everything tab by default when you start autoruns. Its the first tab to the left in the bottom row of tabs.

    Jerry

  13. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    duh!

    soon as I clicked autoruns I saw the everything tab!
    by the way, still no joy!
    am continuing the hunt for red october
    thanks again
    aviva

  14. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by avivamax View Post
    am continuing the hunt for red october
    "am"
    Could you find where the "files \ folders" are backing up to? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  15. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Lightbulb it was a virus!

    Quote Originally Posted by avivamax View Post
    Thanks to Everyone who kindly advised me-Luv U!
    and am following all your tips and will return and tell u the result!I can't find Any folder in the registry or anywhere Plain Fred-but I'll do everything u say and then if still nogo I'll go to Cnet or Gizmo.collect backups names and search again;aviva
    Dear Plain Fred it was a virus-not only wrecked up stuff but has locked me out of the Bios so cant re install!
    Its put in a password so F2 blocked; F11 won't work and all the rest have passwords to open except F8 and F5 which don't allow me to get into F2 or !! to re-install
    Plain Fred- are u able to tell me how to UNblock the password and re-install please?
    I know its easy to do-its a dell latitude x300 8 yrs old notebook and was working perfectly.now I wish I'd put a password in! I never do, on mobile phones either cos I lose them! hope u get this aviva

  16. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    From:http://www.tech-faq.com/reset-dell-bios-password.html
    Dell Inspiron BIOS Password Recovery

    Each Dell Inspiron has a master password that clears the BIOS password. Call Dell Technical Support at (800)624-9896 to get this number.Dell Technical Support will request the Service Tag and Express Service Code from the bottom of the Inspiron.If the current user is not the original Inspiron owner, Dell will transfer the used Inspiron’s registration from the original owner with only the Service Tag and Express Service Code from the tag on the laptop.To transfer a used Dell Inspiron’s registration, fill out the Transfer of Ownership form on Dell’s web site.

    Jerry

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    rgrosz (2012-02-17)

  18. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jerry-thank you -you're a Star!
    Best wishes
    aviva

  19. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    You're welcome

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •