Thanks

Message Rules when using IMAP

Ok, I have WLM 2011 email setup using IMAP, and have left Outlook '07 in POP3. My Windows7 Phone is now synching to WLM perfectly.
    However! I was cleaning up WLM, and when I went to create a rule, it politely told me that I could not create a rule.

"Note: You can't use rules for IMAP or HTTP email accounts like Windows Live Hotmail" See Attachment.

That to me seems a little odd, but then I have never used IMAP settings before.

Is this correct, and if so, is there a work around?

Happy New Year All and thanks for all of the assistance this past year!

IMAP.JPG

John
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

Thanks
    Hi John, Happy New Year.

This is the options offered by my Gmail account. Don't ask for an explanation as its beyond me. What is offered by accessing yours.

RR.JPG
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    It is true that with WLM 2011 you can't create rules for IMAP accounts.

Joe

Thanks
    This is one of the reasons I have switched to Thunderbird.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I have the same setup - using iPhone and iCloud (which is imap) synced to WLMail client (mail program on my computer) 2011. Errrrr. I have to say this is either buggy or just plain weird. In any event, it is sloooow as snails in that when you send a mail you have to waaait for it to show up in your sent folder on your computer so if you want to know if it went out, you just waiiiit. And if you have iCloud open at the same time, and go look in the imap folders for mail there, you also have to waaaiiiiit for that sent mail to show up. It is bizarre.

Thanks