Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Anytime upgrade

  1. #1
    New Lounger Vulnavia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Delaware, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Anytime upgrade

    Is it possible to use Win7 upgrade (7kc-00040) to upgrade Vista to Win7. I know it's for Upgrading to Professional from Home Premium, so I thought I might be able to use it to upgrade Vista Home Premium to Win7.

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Have a look at this Microsoft page which explains the process:

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/help/upgrading-from-windows-vista-to-windows-7

    A
    lso, I'd recommend going to Microsoft and download the Upgrade Advisor before anything else as it will tell you if your PC and software on it is W7 ready.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/downloads/upgrade-advisor


    .

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Many more problems have been reported using the Upgrade option versus the Custom (Clean) install option. If you choose the Custom install option and install directly into the Vista partition the installation will create a folder in the Win 7 root directory (C Drive) called windows.old that contains the entire Vista OS. You can open this folder and grab all your data (Pics, music, favs, etc) and drag them to the new Win 7 OS. after getting all your data transferred over, simply delete the windows.old folder using the approved method from MS. Doing this Custom install will leave a more pristine installation of Win 7. The upgrade can carry over any problems with the old OS into the new OS.

    To answer the question, no the Anytime Upgrade is just for changing (Upgrading) the version of Win 7 presently installed, not for upgrading from Vista to Win 7. You can use a Win 7 Upgrade Media (don't need the full version) to acconplish this.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    goldigeekgrl (2012-01-07),kelliann1 (2012-01-06),Vulnavia (2012-01-03)

  5. #4
    New Lounger Vulnavia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Delaware, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mandarin View Post
    Have a look at this Microsoft page which explains the process:

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/help/upgrading-from-windows-vista-to-windows-7

    A
    lso, I'd recommend going to Microsoft and download the Upgrade Advisor before anything else as it will tell you if your PC and software on it is W7 ready.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/downloads/upgrade-advisor


    .
    Been there, done that. Target system: Gateway P-6860FX, So yes putting Win7 Pro on there isn't going to be an issue, just how it's installed.
    MSI GT725-074US Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Intel Core 2 DUO P8600 @ 2.4Ghz
    ATI Radeon HD4850 512mb GDDR3
    WD 640GB * 8GB DDR2-800

  6. #5
    New Lounger Vulnavia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Delaware, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks! Just trying to save a friend a few $$. As for "Many more problems have been reported using the Upgrade option versus the Custom (Clean) install option", geeze that's half the fun!!!
    MSI GT725-074US Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Intel Core 2 DUO P8600 @ 2.4Ghz
    ATI Radeon HD4850 512mb GDDR3
    WD 640GB * 8GB DDR2-800

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    OTOH, I've upgraded several machines from Vista to Win7 without an issue. I may have to do a little more cleanup but all seems to work OK.

    Joe

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I think a lot depends on how good, or badly behaving the Vista installation is. There could be hidden problems carried forward. Like I said, I have read of more problems with the upgrade versus custom install. Will the upgrade work, perhaps, again depending on the condition of the Vista installation.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    My laptop was upgraded from Vista to 7. I had no issues with it.

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    On
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile

    X1 that, I too had no probs upgrading vista to 7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •