Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,521
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts

    Self-appointed hotkey?

    How come Ctrl-Winkey-1 is "pre-programmed" to load IE? Where is the setting for that if I want it disabled?

    I came across it, went to a barebones Windows install, and it's there as well. From where?

    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 937 Times in 856 Posts
    See if one of the sites referred in this Google search might offer some assistance.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,838
    Thanks
    412
    Thanked 1,573 Times in 1,424 Posts
    Chuck,

    It isn't programmed to start IE but to start the first icon on your task bar. If you move the IE icon to another position whatever replaces it o the task bar will be what gets started with Ctrl+Win+1.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,917
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 816 Times in 731 Posts
    Also, you don't need the ctrl key. Winkey 1 will do the same thing.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,521
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    JW/RG/Ted;

    Thanks guys. Ted, thanks for the link. I'm looking to see if there's a way to start with a blank slate on the WinKey, but it doesn't seem so. Many partial workarounds, but nothing complete.

    Ah well.

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •