Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Anyone know about geocoding?

    For one of my clients, I want to be able to display on a map the location of all scheduled service calls for a date.

    Apparently there is a way to display such information using Google Maps, but it requires submitting the geocode location of each site (that is, latitude and longitude). So I need to be able to convert street, city, state to geocode.

    As a temporary method, I put a button on the form that takes all the addresses for the day and copies them to the clipboard, then opens a website named batchgeo.com. The user has to right-click on a box on the screen, select "Paste" (to copy-in the list of address), then click the "Map now" button on the website. It works, but I'd like to do better.

    How can I get the geocode for a specific address so I can directly call the Google Map?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Hastings, Sussex, England
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mark,

    not a solution for your specific problem, but you might get a clue from Access Archon column 193. I successfully used this for single address display, in the UK. Are you fixed on Google maps? There are commercial packages that will do what you want (e.g. Microsoft's own MapPoint). Integrating non-Microsoft products with Access may be a problem.

    Regards,

    Jules

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    Jules,

    I already know how to display a map for a single location, and even how to show 2 addresses and the route between them; I use MapQuest for these. I just don't know how to display multiple addresses on a map; the only direct solutions required I submit the geocode for each address. That website batchgeo.com did give me a way to submit addresses, just not as cleanly as I'd like.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    You can submit an address to Google Maps API and get back a Lat/Long. You can do this in Google App Script. Look at http://code.google.com/googleapps/ap..._geocoder.html - specifically the geocode method. You pass in an address and get back a structure that includes the lat/long.

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DerekFields For This Useful Post:

    BigDaddyV (2012-02-16),MarkLiquorman (2012-02-02)

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    193
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mark,

    One approach would be to create a .kml file of as many locations as required and then either open that from within Access or from Google Earth. One of the nice side benefits of the .kml is the ability to create grouping of addresses by what ever properties you wish. It's easy for the user to have Google return turn-by-turn directions between any of the sites if that's required.

    Marty

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Joliette, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    You can paste locations into gps visulalizer using csv values

    http://www.gpsvisualizer.com/

    i
    t would be great is someone could develope some code for access

    Richard

  8. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by r3x3 View Post
    http://www.gpsvisualizer.com/

    i
    t would be great is someone could develope some code for access

    Richard
    Thanks, but it seems to me it is easier to work with batchgeo.com than this site. It works OK, but I think having to select a file makes it harder for the user. With batchgeo, I'm able to push it to the clipboard so user only has to right-click and "Paste".
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA. USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    this link may help??

    http://www.peterssoftware.com/ggc.htm

    You should be able to upload a excel sheet with longitude and latitude to your map preference.

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm currently working on a Windows application that provides geocoding and map export. It imports the addresses from an Excel or CSV file, performs the geocoding in the background, exports the address list with geocoding information and also a html map with map pins for the addresses.

    More information are available at www.geocoderpro.com.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •