Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,543
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts

    Refresh & reset your PC

    Another blog post about Windows 8 - Refresh and reset your PC.

    Joe

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,751
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 545 Times in 493 Posts
    Thanks Joe. I read the article earlier and what bothered me is that refresh only maintains Metro apps. Non Metro apps are wiped out of fear of malware. I assume that means that there is no way to do a repair install that will keep apps like Microsoft Office. It was bad enough that Windows 7 repair installs have to be executed from within Windows unlike at boot as on XP. Now there is no way to preserve non Metro apps. Another step backwards.

    Jerry

  4. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,194
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 784 Times in 718 Posts
    Jerry,

    As my good friend Just Plain Fred would say...Image, Image, Image... and I agree.
    Then you can say "Refresh, Refresh, We don't need no stinkin' refresh!"
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  5. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,751
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 545 Times in 493 Posts
    RG, thats fine for the more technically inclined as most of the posters on this board, but that main user base will never do that. Then I get some of thier PCs and have to try to fix them without a good recovery install procedure in my arsenal. :>) Even a regular image routine won't help if the fault is not detected for a couple of weeks and you don't have a old enough image. I will always need a decent "stinkin' refresh".

    Jerry

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,543
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    I think we still need to wait and see what the beta release brings to know for sure. There may still be a repair install using some other method of initiating it. NOTE: I do NOT know one way or the other.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •