Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    How do I inventory hardware

    I'm looking for a way to inventory several WIN7 PCs to discover the Mobos and Video cards. Not after the installed drivers but the actual hardware data.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    System Information for Windows (SIW). This app will tell you more about your hardware and software than you thought possible.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Linus,

    Some other options are Speecy and Belarc Advisor.
    If you're into roll your own here's a PowerShell program I wrote {with help from others}. Make sure you scroll to the bottom of the thread for the latest version.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I had forgotten about Speecy but that is what we both used to post our PC spec's in our signatures I believe. I guess the answer is there are many ways. Device Manager may even be enough although I'm not sure about Mobo.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LinusF3 View Post
    I'm looking for a way to inventory several WIN7 PCs to discover the Mobos and Video cards. Not after the installed drivers but the actual hardware data.
    SIW will do the job. It's a lightweight portable app.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    You could also use the System Information app built into Windows 7. It correctly identified my Motherboard in the System Summary and the Video card unde Componants > Display.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    My favourite free, lightweight but comprehensive PC audit program is WinAudit. Simply amazing!
    http://www.pxserver.com/WinAudit.htm

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I wonder if Linus has tried any of our suggestions????
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Probably the most comprehensive, though not necessarily comprehensible, is either HWiNFO32 or HWiNFO64, depending on your operating system's bit-ness.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Good observation. I thought there would be an on-line notice of any response. Nada. So I got on today and, yes!
    Bad news is that I will be upgrading my video card on this box tomorrow or Saturday so it will probably be Sunday or Monday before I check out anything. Thanks, though!

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Ah, the wonders of the cyberrealm.
    I installed the new video card (in order to have DVI outs to match the required DVI Dual Link cabling required by my new KVM switch. I loosened a power connector on the mobo in the process and was not able to power up --- although I could see the mobo power light come on. Tried what I could; trip to shop; all is well. But wait! The two Samsung SynchMaster monitors --- which had been getting persnickety about turning on --- flat refused to play nice. I discovered on line that the behavior I was getting is a known fatal fault condition. A Samsung tech (a good crowd by the way) walked me through a test and confirmed that the monitors needed servicing. (Which means $120 non-refundable deposit each plus sending them to New Jersey. No promises. But Samsung would send it or them back once serviced. Also he suggested the Best Buy Geek Squad to get another offer.) I checked locally and with two Geek Squad techs at different stores. 100% advised buying new --- which was my feeling going in.
    Then, have you tried to find two DVI monitors in the 20 to 22 inch range under $250 recently? The best options are all sold out. Even at Walmart! Forced me to buy from Dell. And now I'm using a neighbors 17 inch Dell. He has gone to Apple and it was just laying around. New monitors expected ... in February.
    Need for inventory check has been superseded. Thanks all.
    Oh, yesterday one of my UPSes let me know it was kaput.

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Never rains, it pours

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    And the rain keeps pouring! DELL today said the monitors won't meet the 6 Feb delivery. Now it is 22 Feb! I've gone from two 20 inch monitors and two computers working though a KVM switch to a 17 monitor hooked up to one or the other computer. Real monitor pain.

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Yes. Sorry. SIW works well --- I also discovered that CCleaner does a good job too. Thanks!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •