Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts

    More USB Strangeness

    Hi All,

    I finally got around to using the new USB 3.0 WD Essentials 1Tb Protable HD my brother gave me for Christams. Well to say the least it is causing the gremlins to come out of my Desktop computer with only USB 2.0 ports.
    • If it is plugged in at boot, the machine hangs at the "Starting Windows" screen w/o the windows logo. Unplug it and boot continues just fine. Plug it back in after boot it works just fine.
    • Insert Acronis 2010 Boot disk restart machine and select boot from CD/DVD {I've tried both} and Acronis will not boot just hangs until you pull the drive. Then like the Windows boot it continues. Once you have the Acronis blue welcoming screen you can plug the drive back in and it functions just fine for backups and restores.
    • None of this happens on my Laptop (also only USB 2.0 ports), slightly newer than the desktop and both are Dell's.

    Go figure.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Call the Gremlin witch doctor and have them evicted forthwith! Seriously I have read of strange things happening when USB HD's are plugged in at boot, but only intermittently, go figure.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger jockmullin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    St-Eustache,QC,Canada
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
    Which version of Windows? Your signature has a link to (very extensive) laptop specs but it seems the problem is on your desktop.

    My first thought would be to look for a more recent BIOS version for your desktop machine, and if not available then try for a newer chipset driver. That should at least ensure you are up to date. Possibly your existing setup is pre-USB3.

    I also run a 2TB USB 3.0 drive (WD My Book) on USB 2 and it works mostly OK, except that it does take the system awhile to initialize it and a 1TB Iomega USB 2.0, during which time there is a longish (15 sec) pause in bootup while both drives spin up and wink LEDs for a bit, after which everything proceeds normally.

    I tried to use the same USB3 drive on an Inspiron 9400 laptop, but it times out scanning for devices, though it did work under Ubuntu on the same laptop. So I think there can be handshaking issues while the drive decides to fall back to USB 2.

    Since it is a desktop maybe you could procure a USB 3 adapter (which likely comes with separate drivers) and use that to connect the drive.

    Jock

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Did you install the firmare update for the drive? See:
    http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/wdsmartwareupdate/firmware.asp?id=wdfMB30_Essential&os=WIN

    J
    erry

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Jerry,

    Thanks that did it. I'd already checked to make sure the computer BIOS was up-to-data but didn't think a brand new HD would need a firmware update, but obviously it did! Thanks again.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Glad it worked for you.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    460
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
    Like when Obi-Wan said, "these aren't the droids you're looking for," you needed the equivalent firmware to say "this isn't the drive you're looking for."

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    I guess The Force was not with my brother when he bought it.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I'm tellin you, you needed to contract with the gremlin witch doctor ahead of time! Yoda and Obi-Wan had nothin to do with these!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •