Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Unable to access Network Storage Device (NAS) from Wireless connected PC

    I have just added a Buffalo LS-XHL NAS to my Network. It is cabled to my Netgear RangeMax WPN824v3 Wireless Router. I installed the Buffalo SW on my PC that is cabled to the Wireless Router and that PC can find & access the LinkStation.

    I Installed LinkNavigator SW on a second PC that has Wireless access to the Network and it can not discover the LinkStation. I am able to PING the NAS from the Wirless PC and I also have a Printer cabled to the Netgear Wireless Router and the wireless PC finds and uses the Printer just fine.

    I have used the Netgear & Buffalo Forums and so far have not gotten any responses that include any suggestions of what I might change on either the Wireless Router or on the NAS that would support access by my Wireless LapTops to the NAS. Would anyone here have any suggestions that I might try to gain access to the NAS ?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,192
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 783 Times in 717 Posts
    Have you tried uninstalling the software and just accessing the NAS via Windows Explorer. That's how I access my WD-NetCenter drive. I don't bother with the WD software on any of the 5 machines that access the NAS (2 wireless & 3 wired). I did use the software to initially configure the drive but then ditched it once I knew what the IP address was as I can enter that into a browser window and access the onboard software that way if necessary to make changes to the configuration.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the suggestion of accessing the NAS via Windows Explorer. Could you please point me in the direction of where to do I set that on my other PCs ?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,192
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 783 Times in 717 Posts
    You should be able to simply open Windows Explorer then click on Network in the left hand pane.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When I tried doing that, I received the following Msg that the Network Path could not be found

    I had included a Print Screen but it disappeared wheh I posted the reply.
    Last edited by keneb; 2012-01-17 at 08:16.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tried to added Print Screen again and I did something wrong
    Last edited by keneb; 2012-01-17 at 08:17.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,192
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 783 Times in 717 Posts
    Questions:

    1. What operating systems are you using on the respective machines and which can acess the NAS?
    2. If you have Win 7 are you using a home group?
    3. Can you access files on each computer from each of the other computers?
    4. Have you tried entering the IP address of the NAS in a browser {http://192.168.1.1} on the machine that will not find the NAS to see if you can access the NAS software that way?

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for not giving up on me yet ...

    1. All three of the machines are running XP Pro w/SP3. The only machine that can access the NAS is the one attached to Network via eNet Cable, the two machine with wireless access can not 'discover' the NAS, although the NAS does show up as //L .. when you do an Explore but returns an error Msg that the Network Path could not be found when you try to open or access the 'L'
    3. I can not access files on the machines on the network from each other.
    4. I can PING successfully the NAS from the machines that only have wireless access.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,285
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,153 Times in 1,062 Posts
    Have you tried accessing the NAS through the IP, as in \\192.xxx.xxx.xxx ? Sometimes it seems it is the only way to access a machine and it works when accessing by name fails.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I will certainly try ... I think you mean using my browser, FF, and putting in the IP that I was able to PING.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,285
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,153 Times in 1,062 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by keneb View Post
    I will certainly try ... I think you mean using my browser, FF, and putting in the IP that I was able to PING.
    No, I was suggesting using Windows Explorer, not a browser.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,192
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 783 Times in 717 Posts
    Rui,

    No, actually I was suggesting he use a browser. This will usually get you into the NAS software for settings similar to doing it to get access to a router's settings.

    OP,
    Yyes using the address you were able to PING.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,285
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,153 Times in 1,062 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Rui,

    No, actually I was suggesting he use a browser. This will usually get you into the NAS software for settings similar to doing it to get access to a router's settings.

    OP,
    Yyes using the address you were able to PING.
    RG,

    I was suggesting an alternative. I can only access my laptop in Windows Explorer using the IP. No other way works.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,192
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 783 Times in 717 Posts
    Rui,

    Sorry, I thought you had mis-understood my post, but it seems I mis-understood yours.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,285
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,153 Times in 1,062 Posts
    Not a problem, RG .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •