Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Reinstalling original XP - how to get SP1a?

    A faithful old computer lost it's hard drive. I have replaced it, and have installed XP from the original CD. This was original XP - no service packs. It passed validation just fine (as expected).

    I can only install SP3 if I have at least SP1a (or SP2). But I cannot find how to get SP1a.

    I found this site at MS: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/confirmation.aspx?id=19751

    but the download link is dead, and I have not been able to find a live link to obtain SP1a. I realize it is no longer supported, but it seems I ought to at least be able to get old service packs somewhere.

    Anybody? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    See here: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en....aspx?id=19751

    The download works fine for me (using IE 9). Surely it is your browser that's creating the issue.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Solved

    The download link on the page works - it downloads a little 125kb installer. The installer, however, cannot find the server where the package is hosted.

    I found this article:

    http://groups.google.com/group/micro...5afa8ed33e121c

    Which explains how to get a copy of XP Gold fully patched to SP3, using standalone install packages.

    A key bit of information is that I did not need SP1a - I can install SP2 on an unpatched XP Gold, and then go to SP3 from there.

    Cheers!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    You can simply install SP3 without having to pre-install any of the earlier service packs, you know!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    As I commented in another thread, I have found it worth the less than $5 to buy a CD of SP3 from Microsoft. I am a dabbler and have one computer I re-install from time to time. The CD works fine every time, leaving just the MS Updates released after SP3 to install via the internet.
    Paulbyr in NC

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Eastbourne, East Sussex
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just wanted to add that I also took precautions and ordered SP3 from MS. I even have SP1!!! It's come in handy many a time when I reinstal my HD. It does save an awful lot of time than downloading direct from MS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •