New Lounger
    Thanks

Outline numbering

I am a teacher at a private school and is struggling with creating new styles that contains outline numbering. I do understand the steps to create a new style and the steps to customise the outline numbering. What I need to do is the following:

1. xxx

2. xxx

3. xxx

The 1. 2. and 3. sets up perfectly but when I set it up the sub paragraph headings the 2.2 does not happen instead a 3.1 happens. I know that somewhere I am not choosing the correct thing but I just cannot figure it out. Please can someone help with step by step instructions.

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Welcome to the Lounge!

Are you associating the outline numbering with built-in styles (like Heading 1, Heading 2 etc.) or are you using custom styles that you've created yourself?
    It's a little easier to associate outline numbering with styles if you use the built-in Heading styles, but either way, one key is to start modifying the outline numbering while your cursor is in a paragraph that has the style that will be Level 1 in your outline, applied to it.
    Then continue to link the other levels of your outline with the appropriate styles, while still working in the same dialog (i.e. link all the outline levels with styles, at the same time).

How you access the dialog to modify outline numbering (or 'multilevel lists' as they're called starting with Word 2007) differs depending on which version of Word you're using - let us know which version of Word you're using, and we can provide more detailed steps.

(by the way, I've moved this thread from the General Productivity forum to the Word Processing forum.)

Gary

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Hi Gary,

I need to teach my students to create their own styles, where outline numbering is included, according to the instructions given in the text book and the instructions was as per my previous post. We are working on Windows 2003.

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Hi again,