Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: MSSE problem

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    MSSE problem

    I have a W7 Home Premium desktop system, and use MSSE.
    I allow the MSSE Icon to show on my taskbar.
    When I reboot, half the time it will start OK and show as green; but the rest of the time
    it shows as red. When it does show as red, I right click on it, and see the the message:"Real time protection is turned off. You should turn it on." I do turn it on, and it starts up.

    Does anyone have any idea how to eliminate this on-again, off-again scenario?

    Thanks,
    Dick

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Do you have the latest version of MSE? Top right hand corner

    MSEVersion.jpg
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Does it turn green after waiting for a minute or two? I've found several systemas where it takes awhile to load after boot, initially showing red with the error message you saw but then turns green later. Its a function of the speed of your computer and the number of start up items enabled.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    My experience has been similar to what Jerry has described. Just wait for the computer to fully reboot and see if protection is not active by then.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    The only start up items I have enabled are MSSE itself and WinPatrol.
    I must be too impatient, but the next time I reboot I'll wait it out and see if it turns green by itself.
    Thanks,
    Dick

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    That happens to me also at times..
    Most of the time it turns green on it's on and other time I right click and open it and then it turns green.

    Sometimes it doesn't appear at all and I have checked with Task Manager and it's running...

    My solution is....That I just don't worry about it...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks all. I worry about it, because I want to make sure I have real-time protection running before I use the web.
    Anyway, I've done the following: I removed WinPatrol from auto-starting, so that MSSE alone auto-starts.
    After MSSE comes up "green" I start WinPatrol from my taskbar.
    MSSE comes up "green" more often now; and when it doesn't, it takes about 15-20 seconds to change from "red" to "green."
    FWIW, I am running the latest version of MSSE.
    Best,
    Dick

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    As suspected, it is clearly the boot process that is taking time. I think I see it less with the current beta, which I am using.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •