Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    reinstalling XP on Dell computer partition ?

    After trying to speed up my XP by trying Fred Langa's no reformat, nondestructive total rebuild and having the computer slow down even more I am doing a reinstall. This is a Dell XP and when it comes to installing the OS it comes up with existing partitions. Partition1 on the C drive is NTFS 38154MB. There is also an unpartitioned space of 8MB. Should I deleted the unpartitioned space before I do the install? Should I delete both then do the install?

    Linda

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The 8 MB unallocated space is not worth worrying about right now. Elder Geek shows a fairly comprehensive installation to Clean Install XP.

    I am not sure Windows will let you format the C Drive from within Windows, but the installation when you do a Clean Install formats the partition as it installs. During the beginning of the installation you should choose the drive that already includes XP and choose Clean Install or whatever the terminology is for XP. Frankly I do not remember the exact terminology.

    Here is a step by step instruction page for the clean install.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-01-20 at 11:12.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    xyiegphriedt (2012-01-20)

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you, I did look at that sight. My first attempt installed over the already created partition.
    I see that by just reinstalling over the current partition I don't have to activate.
    partition.gifThis shows the 8MB in an unpartitioned file.

    So if I delete both the partitioned space and the unpartitioned space I will then need to create a new partition and install XP. Then I will most likely need to activate XP. I did the install from the origianl Dell OEM disc with no service packs, so now I am going to try it with my slipstreamed cd.

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Something strange here.

    In post #1 there is Partition1 on the C drive of 38154MB (so assumedly a 40GB drive) but in the screenshot above it is only a 4GB drive.

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sorry, the screenshot was not of my computer, just one that I pulled from the internet as an example of what I see. Mine is a 40GB hard drive, but has that Unpartitioned 8GB.
    If I delete both partitions will I just create a new partition then?

  7. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Linda,

    Have you looked to see if that 8Gb partition is the Dell Recovery Partition? On boot Press & Hold Ctrl and repetedly tap F11 see if it boots into the Dell Recovery Environment. This will put your machine back to the condition as it came from the factory if you continue.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Is that 8 GB or 8 MB? In your original post you state it is 8 MB. If it is 8 GB it may be the recovery Partition as RG suggests. This can make a difference. I would follow the procedure RG suggests as he also has Dell PC's.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    I'm out.

    If I can't rely on the information given, I can't help.

  10. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Is that 8 GB or 8 MB? In your original post you state it is 8 MB. If it is 8 GB it may be the recovery Partition as RG suggests. This can make a difference. I would follow the procedure RG suggests as he also has Dell PC's.
    The unpartitioned area is only 8MB. Tomorrow I will delete all partitions and treat it like a new hard drive with no previous OS installation.

  11. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Linda,

    Have you looked to see if that 8Gb partition is the Dell Recovery Partition? On boot Press & Hold Ctrl and repetedly tap F11 see if it boots into the Dell Recovery Environment. This will put your machine back to the condition as it came from the factory if you continue.
    Doing what you say gives me a keyboard failure

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    That's probably because RG believed the 8 MB was a typo and you meant 8 GB. If it truly is 8 MB then it is not large enough to hold a recovery partition and you are better off doing the reinstalled from scratch with a CD/DVD, assuming you have one and a valid key. You may have to do a little searching to find the service pack updates but check in a few threads here and you will find links to most of what you need. By the way what version is your XP disk (baseline SP1, SP1a, SP2, etc)
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    xyiegphriedt (2012-01-21)

  14. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I slipstreamed my Dell OEM pre SP CD with SP3. I have already done a reinstall with it and it works great. Previous install was over the partition that already had XP. Going to delete that partition now and start over since I know the cd works.
    Thanks everyone.

  15. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    That's really great news for you and it will definitely give you a pristine OS when finished.

    May I make a suggestion. After you add all updates, all apps, all customizations and data, etc. When you are totally done and running the way it should be, start creating Images. First make an Image of the finished product. This will be the baseline gold standard. Then create a new Image whenever you make changes to the PC, i.e. new apps, updates, etc. This will allow you to get back to where you are in less than 10 minutes!!!

    Find an Imaging app that will work for you, many are discussed in the Security and Backup forum, create a bootable CD with whatever app you decide to use, store your Images off the PC (I use an ext USB HD for my Images, they are getting very reasonable. My 1 TB Ext USB Seagate will hold dozens of Image files). This is such low cost insurance and will save you hours of time the next time you have a problem!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •