Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sun City Hilton Head, SC USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows firewall disabled - How to restore it?

    I had a virus recently (Win 7 2012) that, amongst other things, rendered my Windows firewall permanently disabled. Using the standard Windows 7 (I am on SP1+) prompts I get an error
    Anyone help me?

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,743
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 544 Times in 492 Posts
    Your screen capture did not come through. Try running SFC /scannow from an elevated Cmd prompt. You could also try a System Restore to a date prior to the infection but be sure its prior or you might re-introduce the virus.

    Jerry

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    priker (2012-01-22)

  5. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sun City Hilton Head, SC USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I resubmitted typing it in.

  6. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    There is now a duplicate thread.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,435
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    I agree with the use of the "sfc /scannow" command, otherwise your looking at a non destruct repair install,... provided your 100% sure the infection is gone.

  8. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    As Clint suggests are you certain the virus has been eradicated? Run full manual scans with Malwarebytes Antimalware and Spybot Search and Destroy in safe mode. I would also start a full scan of your AV while in safe mode.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •