Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sun City Hilton Head, SC USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows firewall disabled - How to restore it?

    I had a virus recently (Win 7 2012) that, amongst other things, rendered my Windows firewall permanently disabled. Using the standard Windows 7 (I am on SP1+) prompts I get an error
    Anyone help me?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,875
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 557 Times in 505 Posts
    Your screen capture did not come through. Try running SFC /scannow from an elevated Cmd prompt. You could also try a System Restore to a date prior to the infection but be sure its prior or you might re-introduce the virus.

    Jerry

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    priker (2012-01-22)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sun City Hilton Head, SC USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I resubmitted typing it in.

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    There is now a duplicate thread.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 499 Times in 459 Posts
    I agree with the use of the "sfc /scannow" command, otherwise your looking at a non destruct repair install,... provided your 100% sure the infection is gone.

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    As Clint suggests are you certain the virus has been eradicated? Run full manual scans with Malwarebytes Antimalware and Spybot Search and Destroy in safe mode. I would also start a full scan of your AV while in safe mode.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •