Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet Explorer 9 problems

    Hi Everyone. I am at a dilemma. Not all websites, but some tell me I need to update my browser in order to view the pages right. Now this happen recently
    with my Google Blog at http://MistyMiloandFriends.blogspot.com They have a new interface and I clicked to try it because I was having trouble
    uploading a video. I got the message that my browser was no longer supported. On the help page for the blog, someone told me that IE9 should be fine.
    Can anyone else tell me why this is happening? I also get this on my Yahoo Mail page sometimes. Also at Media Fire. They say it appears I am using
    an older browser. I have 9. I have Norton Internet Security 2011 (I don't think it has updated yet to 2012). It scans almost all the time.
    I installed Microsoft security essentials and it did a quick scan. I also install the security scanner from Microsoft and it did not find anything. Do I
    need to uninstall IE9 and then reinstall? If so what's the best way to uninstall? Before anyone says anything, I like IE9. I have Firefox and Chrome
    installed and will only use if necessary because I do not like them. Firefox did fine with my blog. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Site seems fine from my end.
    I'm using IE 9, 64 bit.

    Try cleaning out the browser by deleting history, cookies, & IE cache, ect.
    You can use an app like CCleaner.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Are Java & Adobe Flash Player installed in IE9?
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Gramps, I don't have a problem either. If cleaning out your TIF (as Clint suggests) does not work, you could attempt to disable all add ons (Gear in upper right corner, manage add ons, disable each one at a time) to see if this helps.

    I have found a couple of sites that don't like IE 9 or are intermittent with IE 9, but the one in particular is an https secure web page for my online banking site. I know that if I have to pay bills I switch to Google Chrome for this one chore. Eventually either they will catch up or I will figure it out.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Lounger Super Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Jordan Minnesota
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried in both Fire Fox and IE9 no problems opening that site

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 648 Times in 571 Posts
    When a site tells you that the browser or Flash needs to be updated, click the Ɵ Filtering icon in the address bar and turn off ActiveX Filtering for that site (if satisfied it's safe):


    About ActiveX Filtering

    How to use Tracking Protection and ActiveX Filtering in Internet Explorer 9


    Bruce
    Last edited by BruceR; 2012-01-23 at 09:13.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi everyone again. Thanks. I already use CCleaner. Run it every night or during the day if I have been to a lot of websites. I will check on the filtering thinf in IE9.
    I am able to go to my blog no matter what browser I use. It's when I want to go to the dashboard or to upload anything. I clicked on the new interface and that's when all this happen. I had a heck of a time getting back to the old interface. But, they tell me Google is going to automatically go to the new interface eventually. I'm just trying to figure
    out what to do about it. The new interface worked fine in Firefox, but I do prefer IE. I'll try what has been answered here. Thanks.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You could also try viewing the site in compatibility mode by clicking on the
    Compatibility View button
    on the Address bar
    .

    Jerry

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone. I guess I will just wait and see what happens. I've tried everything, but will now wait until they change over to the new interface and if I have to, I'll use Firefox.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •