Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Beverly, MA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Help using windows 7 remote assistance

    I'm trying to help a friend remotely using RA and I've run into a couple of problems. We both use win 7 on 64 bit machines. I'm on a desktop and she is on a laptop. Since we are both using win 7 I used Easy Connect. I got a message that easy connect not available can't connect peer-to-peer- network. I checked with Netgear and they said my router should support RA. Is there something I need to setup to run RA? I next had my friend send me an email request. I got the email and opened up the request and entered the correct password. The password was not recognized so I entered it again and it still was not recognized. Anyone have some answers. Please just reply to my RA problems and don't get into any other software at this time. RA seems like a simple program and I can't understand why it won't work, especially since we are both using win 7.

    Thanks , Ralph

    P.S. I have VMware Player installed on my desktop

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Easiest way to help your friend: use TeamViewer. Get your friend to download the QuickSupport version and she just needs to execute the downloaded file. TeamViewer is free for non commercial use, so you can use it without issues.

    I used to use RA. Now, on the not so common circumstance where a friend needs help, I use TeamViewer. It's excelent.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I have also read very good reviews about TeamViewer. DrWho swears by it (not at it I might add.)
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    What version of win 7 are you using? Maybe can only use remote assist on win 7 pro or above. I don't know if this is the case but i am sure someone else will confirm or rebuke my thoughts.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    RA, AFAIK, is available on all Windows 7 versions: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...sked-questions

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by curiousclive View Post
    What version of win 7 are you using? Maybe can only use remote assist on win 7 pro or above. I don't know if this is the case but i am sure someone else will confirm or rebuke my thoughts.
    Perhaps you've confused Remote Assistance with Remote Desktop.

    The Remote Desktop server is only available on Pro versions and above.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Remote Assistance is part of the features included in Windows Live Messenger.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Remote Assistance is part of the features included in Windows Live Messenger.
    George,

    I don't use Live Messanger and I used Remote Assistance, nonetheless. WLM can have an option to access Remote Assistance, but it most likely is just an easy way to access the Windows feature.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    George,

    I don't use Live Messanger and I used Remote Assistance, nonetheless. WLM can have an option to access Remote Assistance, but it most likely is just an easy way to access the Windows feature.
    Hi Rui,
    Its something I never used. I don't use Messenger now.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    Remote Assistance is a great tool, if you are on a corporate network. Its not so slick for personal use. I recommend TeamViewer or Mikogo.
    Chuck

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphf View Post
    Anyone have some answers. Please just reply to my RA problems and don't get into any other software at this time. RA seems like a simple program and I can't understand why it won't work, especially since we are both using win 7.

    Thanks , Ralph

    How many of you read the full OP?
    Last edited by Browni; 2012-01-25 at 21:46.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    How many of you read the full OP?
    I did miss that part .

    Thing is, TeamViewer is even more simple than RA, and it makes much more sense to use it than RA. I love the fact that you can switch users or just reboot the remote computer, if you need to, as long as you choose to install it instead of just running...

    Of course, your observation is still right.
    Last edited by ruirib; 2012-02-09 at 09:48. Reason: typo

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Is it possible that the person you are working with obtained the password, gave it to you and then closed her instance of RA?

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Beverly, MA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for all the help. I used Team Viewer and it was a breeze. Not only is it easy to use but it works, not like Windows 7 RA.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •