Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polson, Montana, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No More OSD Volume Control

    So my on-screen display for my volume control on my HP Pavilion dv5000 has stopped working. I can still use the quick launch buttons and change the volume, but the green volume meter no longer shows up on screen. I've tried downloading the quick launch button drivers from HP, along with doing a system restore, and neither worked. The online forums don't seem to be too much help... Any ideas? Anyone know what program is responsible for controlling the display?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,752
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    The Volume Icon is not the same thing as an On Screen Display volume control.

    Bruce

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Do you mean this display?

    Volume1.png

    Mine's not an HP, so if this is what you mean, it's not HP specific, it's the standard XP display.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,752
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidPierson View Post
    Do you mean this display?

    Volume1.png

    Mine's not an HP, so if this is what you mean, it's not HP specific, it's the standard XP display.
    I don't think that is the standard XP display, but I wouldn't call it an on-screen display either.

    On-screen display of volume is normally provided by a keyboard driver: Windows XP forum: Volume Bar Missing

    Bruce

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    I don't think that is the standard XP display, but I wouldn't call it an on-screen display either.
    Bruce
    Yes I reckon you're right, and that is in fact provided by the Intellitype driver. I use a Microsoft keyboard with volume buttons.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polson, Montana, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry about the late reply, but I found what I was looking for. After doing a lot of googling (this was really beginning to bug me...), I found the answer in the file etray.exe in my C:\WINDOWS\ehome folder. A new startup entry and it works like a charm.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •