Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Macro Security in Word 2010

    I have a template that was originally Word 2003. If I open the Macro VBA window, the macros run fine, but If Put the template in the Template directory and try to run the macro I get the message "Macro cannot be found or has been disabled..."
    I've set my security to low and to trust all VBA Object Models.
    I've also set the startup folder as a trusted location.

    Where am I going wrong?
    Charlotte
    Char Q
    Pacific NW

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Charlotte,

    Try opening the file as a Template (not a document) then save it back as a type .dotm {macro enabled template}. It should work after that. :cheers
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That was my first thought also. It didn't work.
    Char Q
    Pacific NW

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts
    You need it in the templates folder and need that folder listed as a trusted location. It can be a .dotm file or a .dot file.

    BTW, your security should NOT be set to low.
    Last edited by Charles Kenyon; 2012-01-24 at 23:10.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I pulled away form this project...Charles. I did as you suggested. Still won't allow the macros to run.
    Char Q
    Pacific NW

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by charq52 View Post
    I pulled away form this project...Charles. I did as you suggested. Still won't allow the macros to run.
    Is the template in a folder marked in your trust center as a trusted location?
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, Charles, it is.
    Char Q
    Pacific NW

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts
    Sorry, I've run out of suggestions.

    How do you know that folder is a trusted location? Macros in documents/templates stored in a trusted location are supposed to run without notice. This is true of both .dot and .dotm files.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    Charlotte,

    Just getting back to initial questions since nothing is working so far:

    1) What type of template is it? - That is, is this a 'document' template that you use for creating new documents based on the template, OR, is it a 'global' template that is a place to store things like macros, toolbar customizations and autotexts, but which you do not use to create new documents based on it?

    2) Which'"template directory' did you put the template in? (there are potentially several) You mention having set the Startup folder as a trusted location. Does that mean you've put your template in the Startup folder? - Unless it's a global template, your template doesn't belong in the Startup folder - it should go in either the default User templates location, or else in a templates location that you can designate (equivalent to what used to be called "Workgroup templates" location in Word 2003 and earlier) as a trusted location.

    3) Generally, what are the macros for and how do you usually run them (for instance, how did you use them in Word 2003)?

    Also, just seconding what Charles said, you should not set the macro security to Low, and unless a specific add-in requires it, you should not put a checkmark next to 'Trust Access to the VBA project object model".

    Gary

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    I don't know if this is your problem. But in addition to Gary's advice, there's this:

    In W2003, a macro could be called from any document or template that is loaded into memory. In W2007/10, that is not true.

    In W2003, I had macros in normal.dot and in three add-on templates. In almost all of them, I had accidentally created shortcuts and icons that called a macro that was in one of the other templates. When I moved to W2007, they didn't work. I had to reorganize my macros—and I chose to remove all of them from normal—and had to redo shortcut and icon assignments. Note that icons that appear in the add-on tab in W2007/10 had to be fixed in W2003. After I did that, everything worked.


    HTH,
    Pam
    Last edited by PamCaswell; 2012-02-20 at 00:01.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •