Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

Hard Drive Reliability, for preservation of data, what kind to buy?

to all (including windows secrets newswriters - a possible topic to cover)
    I realize this is not a software question, and not exclusively related to windows

HOWEVER
    I am researching purchasing some new external hard drives for backup use.
    I am a veteran computer user, owning some drives that are 7 or 8 years old, stuffed into external usb-interface boxes, and these OLD drives have been very reliable.

BUT, in researching newer ones to get, the reviews on vendors sites are NOT great. Even the "more" reliable drives have about a 10 to 15 % negative rating, and the reviewers are not just bashing the product; these individual users explain how these products have failed in normal everyday use.

Since our DATA is the most crucial part of what we all want to preserve, the BACKUP and storage of this data should be able to be done on something that is RELIABLE, and i don't consider a product as reliable if it has even more than 5% of negative reviews (a negative review to me is one where the data failed, NOT if the case looks ugly, or the included software isn't great, etc

Can the writers of the newsletter look at this as a possible future topic; or do other readers have suggestions as to how we can more easily find info on what is a RELIABLE disk to buy?

any feedback appreciated
    nick

Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Nick,

A couple of things to keep in mind about user reviews.
    1. Unhappy users tend to post more than happy users, basic human nature.
    2. You don't know the technical expertise of the poster. They could have caused the problem them selves and are blaming it on the vendor.
    3. Then of course there is the competitor factor. Are competitior posting false reviews or just some one who is unhappy with the vendor posting multiple bad reviews, etc.