Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,468
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 214 Times in 181 Posts

    Firefox 9.0.1 connection settings

    Hi Loungers,

    Which of these is correct & why ?

    Capture.JPGUntitled.jpg
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,671
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 624 Times in 552 Posts
    "B" is the default, because that will recognize a general Windows proxy setting at Control Panel, Internet Options, Connection. "A" would let Firefox ignore the Windows setting.

    Bruce

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,468
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 214 Times in 181 Posts
    Hi Bruce,
    as far as I know, their is no proxy settings on my pc. I thought something had implemented a proxy setting for nefarious purposes.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    923
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    In which case 'A' would be the selection. as on mine.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Your ISO maintains your proxy server and tells your PC how to connect to it's servers. Using System Proxy Servers is your PC setup to use the ISP system and the default servers to connect your system to the internet. You can use these defaults or specify how to manually connect, say through Open DNS servers. The proxy server acts as a security layer between your PC and the internet.

    note: this is a simplistic explanation from a non-network individual (me) and is my understanding. A Google search shows much info on Proxy Servers.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,468
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 214 Times in 181 Posts
    These are the settings in IE9

    RR.JPG
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,677
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 782 Times in 705 Posts
    Except for rare cases, you should uncheck automatically detect settings. It works but wastes time connecting. For a more detailed discussion of the topic, see:
    http://ask-leo.com/do_i_want_to_let_my_browser_automatically_detect_s ettings.html

    J
    erry

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    RetiredGeek (2012-01-29)

  9. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,468
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 214 Times in 181 Posts
    Hi Jerry,
    FF is my default browser, now set as your link. Thanks
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  10. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,390
    Thanks
    365
    Thanked 1,443 Times in 1,316 Posts
    Jerry,

    Thanks for the info. Both FF & IE start up noticably quicker now.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  11. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,677
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 782 Times in 705 Posts
    Glad it helped. Cheers.

    Jerry

  12. #11
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,453
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    Just a little footnote: Firefox 10 is the current stable version. And Chrome just got an update as well. The Firefox proxy or no-proxy settings should carry over just fine.
    -- Bob Primak --

  13. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,468
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 214 Times in 181 Posts
    Bob, FF 10.0.1 is OK.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  14. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    923
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    @roderunner
    Probably be 10.0.3 by time you sign off
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  15. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Maybe even 12.0
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  16. #15
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,453
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Bob, FF 10.0.1 is OK.
    Never said it wasn't.
    -- Bob Primak --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •