Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts

    Firefox 9.0.1 connection settings

    Hi Loungers,

    Which of these is correct & why ?

    Capture.JPGUntitled.jpg
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,768
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 340 Times in 307 Posts
    "B" is the default, because that will recognize a general Windows proxy setting at Control Panel, Internet Options, Connection. "A" would let Firefox ignore the Windows setting.

    Bruce

  4. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Bruce,
    as far as I know, their is no proxy settings on my pc. I thought something had implemented a proxy setting for nefarious purposes.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    918
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    In which case 'A' would be the selection. as on mine.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Your ISO maintains your proxy server and tells your PC how to connect to it's servers. Using System Proxy Servers is your PC setup to use the ISP system and the default servers to connect your system to the internet. You can use these defaults or specify how to manually connect, say through Open DNS servers. The proxy server acts as a security layer between your PC and the internet.

    note: this is a simplistic explanation from a non-network individual (me) and is my understanding. A Google search shows much info on Proxy Servers.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    These are the settings in IE9

    RR.JPG
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,751
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 545 Times in 493 Posts
    Except for rare cases, you should uncheck automatically detect settings. It works but wastes time connecting. For a more detailed discussion of the topic, see:
    http://ask-leo.com/do_i_want_to_let_my_browser_automatically_detect_s ettings.html

    J
    erry

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    RetiredGeek (2012-01-29)

  10. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Jerry,
    FF is my default browser, now set as your link. Thanks
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  11. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,194
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 784 Times in 718 Posts
    Jerry,

    Thanks for the info. Both FF & IE start up noticably quicker now.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  12. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,751
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 545 Times in 493 Posts
    Glad it helped. Cheers.

    Jerry

  13. #11
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,306
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Just a little footnote: Firefox 10 is the current stable version. And Chrome just got an update as well. The Firefox proxy or no-proxy settings should carry over just fine.
    -- Bob Primak --

  14. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Bob, FF 10.0.1 is OK.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  15. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    918
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    @roderunner
    Probably be 10.0.3 by time you sign off
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  16. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Maybe even 12.0
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  17. #15
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,306
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Bob, FF 10.0.1 is OK.
    Never said it wasn't.
    -- Bob Primak --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •