Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Win 7 Family Pack status

    I have used 2 or 3 of my 3 family upgrades. How can I check on the Microsoft tally of this usage?

    PS how can I move this post to a different section?
    Last edited by mapletrail; 2012-01-31 at 16:06.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    How many PC's have you installed your Win 7 OS on? Perhaps a more detailed explanation would help to answer this question.

    A moderator or Administrator would have to move the thread.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,455
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 497 Times in 457 Posts
    If you go over your limit you will be denied activation...and be forced to call MS.
    (A telephone number would be provided at the time of denial)
    If you are querying about your limit I doubt there is a mechanism in place whereby you could check.
    You may have to call MS in order to check your status if you are unsure.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Clint
    You would think MS would send me little love notes - "You have now used 2 of 3 installs..."
    I guess I'll just continue activating until I'm denied then
    Also see my reply to Ted...

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Ted

    I activated 2 installs some time ago. Installed but not activated on a 3rd machine that I plan to retire.
    So I guess I can activate on one more computer.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    918
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    If you haven't activated the third install then you do have one left.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    I concur, If you only activated on 2 PC's you will have a third left. Even after that, if you were to retire 1 of the 2 you already activated, you could transfer that activation to another PC. You would most likely have to call MS for this activation.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    mapletrail (2012-02-01)

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    I didn't know there was such a thing. I know about multiple installs for 3 computers with Norton AV, Office, etc but didn't know it existed with Win 7

    Barbara

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Barb -
    I purchased a Win 7 Upgrade-only "Family Pack" for 3 PCs back when they were being promoted. My offer ($125) had a time limit so this option may no longer be available.
    Last edited by mapletrail; 2012-02-01 at 07:30.

  11. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    I do not think the offer is available any more although periodically MS does make specials available. I believe the Family pack was initially offered when Win 7 was first out, and has been offered once or twice since then. There are other offers available. Check these out. Not quite the same price, but still a deal.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 63 Times in 51 Posts
    The Windows 7 Family Pack upgrade has been consistently available on Amazon for at least the past year.
    Chuck

  13. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Yes it is, however not near the price quoted by Barb. I believe the original Family Pack directly from MS was $125 in the early days of MS. There are still some very good deals out there. A Google search does reveal many such sites.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    Doc Brown (2012-02-02)

  15. #13
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    I am not shopping for this, was just curious because I had not heard of it. I guess when Win7 first came out, I was not thinking of getting it because my old Dell wouldn't begin to run it. Since then I have several new Win7 computers so have no need. But if someone should ask me, Now I know! Thanks.

  16. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 63 Times in 51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Yes it is, however not near the price quoted by Barb. I believe the original Family Pack directly from MS was $125 in the early days of MS. There are still some very good deals out there. A Google search does reveal many such sites.
    I know. Your post made it sound like you were saying the Family Pack was no longer available. I believe when they first offered it, it was only for a short time, then they literally pulled it off the market. No worries, I understand now what you meant.
    Chuck

  17. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Aptos, CA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by midnight View Post
    I am not shopping for this, was just curious because I had not heard of it. I guess when Win7 first came out, I was not thinking of getting it because my old Dell wouldn't begin to run it. Since then I have several new Win7 computers so have no need. But if someone should ask me, Now I know! Thanks.
    Microsoft didn't really "advertise" this when Win7 came out. It was mentioned on some forums and you had to purchase it from their website. I kept checking in when Win7 came out and got "the deal" as quoted above. Actually bought two of them. It was a limited time only and after a month or so, it was gone at that price. The next time I saw it it was a lot more than I paid. I just couldn't pass up the deal, although it still took me two years to finally upgrade.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •