Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: FireFox 10.0

  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts

    FireFox 10.0

    Hello Again All,

    Just installed FF 10.0 on my main desktop and all Extensions seem to be operating properly as in 9.0.1. I've also installed it on a brand spanking new Dell XPS14z that just arrived today. I'll post back with any observations as things arise. May be a day or 2 before I get to use it much as I'm pulling an all nighter to get the new machine fully configured for my better half before she returns tomorrow from N.M. big early Valentine/Anniversary suprise!

    Progress so far:
    • Account setup
    • Crapware removed
    • MSE Installed
    • MS Office 2003 installed (she refuses to go Ribbon!)
    • Nitro PDF Reader & PrimoPDF installed
    • FF 10.0 Installed
    • Drive Partitioned & documents move to G:\
    • Currently doing Acronis 2010 Image.

    Wish me luck.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You are such a nice guy to your sig other. All I did was buy mine a new car! I kept the new PC, she got the old one!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Geez Ted,

    I wish I could get off that cheap. All mine wants are Plane tickets, which leads to Rental Cars, which leads to Hotel Rooms, which leads to Resturants, Etc. Etc. Etc.....
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Ha!!!
    U guys are funny........... but all of this is true LOL!!
    Last edited by Jagworld; 2012-02-02 at 08:10. Reason: text spell

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    Sounds like fun, hope you have a nice bottle of Chianti to keep you company.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Question

    Okay, I'm checking in to wish you luck and see how you are progressing with Firefox 10, Retired Geek. I won't get into Valentine's Day!

    At my end, when Firefox automatically downloaded the update (had 9.0.1) - strange, since I had set downloads to "ask me first" - I couldn't access links from email (Windows Live Mail). Kept getting an error message whose text I can't quite remember telling me that it couldn't access the content or something like that. When this occurred several times, I used System Restore to get rid of 10.0 and all was well.

    Except ... now Secunia and Firefox keep telling me I need to update Firefox and reading I've done suggests that the update is a wise thing to do.

    Would you be able to offer any advice on this - once you have completed your new computer set up tasks, that is!?

    Thanks for any thoughts,

    Linda

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Linda,

    I'm currently running FF 10.0.1 w/o problems for a while now and have been prompted to update to 10.0.2 but haven't done that yet. The wife is leaving for a week in NYC to do genealogical research so I'll have a lot of time next week to play around. That's why I was so intent on getting her new Dell XPS14z set up and ready to go. It is a really nice machine...wish I had one but I'll have to limp along on my Inspiron 1564 laptop for the time being. Although my DT is now 4 years old and I'm getting itchy may attempt a build this time around to get all the new features, USB 3.0, UIEF, SATA 3.0, etc.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    A week in NYC. Did you take out a second mortgage to fund that? Wow! I know what you mean about plane tickets and hotels, restaurants, etc.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Ted,

    She's actually taking the Train from Florence SC. And of course I told her it's Micky D's for all meals....yeah RIGHT!
    You'll notice I'm staying home to take care of the cats! She's going with her BFF!
    But as I'm fond of saying "I've yet to see a U-Haul behind a Hearse!"
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2012-02-19 at 09:28.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    LOL, what a jokester, LOL
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm on the Release Channel for Firefox. I just updated to 10.0.2. It was a very smooth update with no problems and all of my add-ons are working!
    I'm on Day 2 or 3, and very happy with the seamless transition.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by baperry View Post
    I'm on the Release Channel for Firefox. I just updated to 10.0.2. It was a very smooth update with no problems and all of my add-ons are working!
    I'm on Day 2 or 3, and very happy with the seamless transition.
    Same results here!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    My FF is on 10.0.2 and all is well :-)

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Teesside,England
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    10.0.2 is driving me mental.

    It opens at startup every time with that Welcome to firefox tab plus the bing tab.

    It has repeatedly ignore my setting home page to one I want it to open with.

    All my add-ons exist in Add-On Manager but none of them are active - at least i think they arent because they include vertical toolbar and that isnt happening plus every single one fo the add-on buttons is missing. No-Script cant be working as sites are not throwing up the usual scripts that require ok'ing messages.

    All add-ons show options and the disable option suggesting they are working but if I try to access any of them then Firefox locks up entirely and I have to use Task manager to terminate it.

    I will try and uninstall it completely then install Firefox from scratch but if that is no better I will ditch it for good.

    10.0 was fine.

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger WildcatRay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jiffy128 View Post
    10.0.2 is driving me mental.

    It opens at startup every time with that Welcome to firefox tab plus the bing tab.

    It has repeatedly ignore my setting home page to one I want it to open with.

    All my add-ons exist in Add-On Manager but none of them are active - at least i think they arent because they include vertical toolbar and that isnt happening plus every single one fo the add-on buttons is missing. No-Script cant be working as sites are not throwing up the usual scripts that require ok'ing messages.

    All add-ons show options and the disable option suggesting they are working but if I try to access any of them then Firefox locks up entirely and I have to use Task manager to terminate it.

    I will try and uninstall it completely then install Firefox from scratch but if that is no better I will ditch it for good.

    10.0 was fine.
    If you have not already done so, back up your profile(s) with a utility like Mozbackup.

    Next, download a fresh copy of Fx.

    Uninstall your existing Fx. If you have Revo Uninstaller, I would recommend using it, selecting the "Advanced" option on the screen that appears after you confirm that you want to uninstall Fx. Follow the rest of the Revo Uninstaller prompts.

    Reinstall from the fresh copy of Fx that you just downloaded.

    If things work OK, great, you're done. If they don't, you may need to create a new profile. If you have been using Fx Sync, then, once created, you can restore what you had been backing up to Sync. If not, there is a knowledge base article that will instruct you on the files you can copy over from your old profile to the new one to get back that data and information.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •