Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26
  1. #16
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    I also use IE 9 at least 99% of the time without any problems. There are almost NO sites that do not load properly. I have NEVER caught a "COLD" while using IE 9, although catching viruses and malware are much more dependent on an individuals surfing habits, clicking habits, and security systems rather than their browser choice. All modern browsers are very secure compared to browsers of old.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  2. #17
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    Yes Ted, most, or should I say a lot, of people just click on things and can't figure out why they get infected..

    These are the same people that will back their car into a tree and then blame the tree for being where it is.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  3. #18
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Banyarola View Post
    Yes Ted, most, or should I say a lot, of people just click on things and can't figure out why they get infected..

    These are the same people that will back their car into a tree and then blame the tree for being where it is.
    Oh, I've had a personal computer at home for 20 years and have never had a piece of malware or a virus make it to my machine even once. And during those years, I have used a wide variety of security tools, currently using mostly standalone tools. But I use FF almost exclusively, if I need IE for anything which has happened once or twice, I turn a FF tab into an IE tab which takes care of the problem, it is good enough to fool even Windows Update. I have noticed that IE 9 cannot stop all pop up blockers regardless what choices you make, that doesn't happen with FF or Chrome. Haven't used Opera in many years though I did favor it at one time. I like FF for the multitude of customizable add ons. Safety on the net is achievable with any browser, you are correct in that. So personal preference is personal freedom to choose I guess. Which fits well in a free society. :^)

  4. #19
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    Way to go gene....

    Computing is the sport of the cautious...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  5. #20
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,306
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    In addition to all the good replies to this thread, there is yet another reason some web pages or portions of pages show up as blanks when accessed using ANY browser's Back Arrow:

    Some web pages contain "post" data, which are not part of the main page codes. These "post" data must be re-entered or restored in order for the entire page contents to be seen. Some of these pages are login or secure transaction pages, while some are unsecured pages. In any event, they contain "live" data which are not automatically restored when you use the Back Arrow to return to these pages. Yahoo Mail is one of many examples, and the Lounge logins behave much the same way.

    I don't think any useful purpose is being served by the sub-thread on which browser is more secure, or shows more web pages better than the others. Let's just agree that we have our preferences, and some of us just use whichever browser seems to give the best user experience on a per-site basis. I actually fall into that category, especially with Windows 8 Developer Preview and IE 10.
    Last edited by bobprimak; 2012-02-13 at 11:14.
    -- Bob Primak --

  6. #21
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mpioso View Post
    does anyone still use IE, for anything? OMG.
    I stopped running IE9 because of printing problems. Left me no choice but to revert back to IE8. I won't use 9 again until it's fixed and maybe not even then, I've gotten used to Google Chrome.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #22
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    I very rarely use the print function in IE.
    I use Bull Zip PDF printer (Free-ware) and just use CNTRL/ P and print the page to a PDF and then I use that to print out what I want.

    Works for me...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  8. #23
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    I also never use the print function in any browser. I find Ctrl + P so easy, or as Bany states the print function of my PDF reader of choice for those type files I open in my browser. Heck, I've actually forgotten about the browser print function and have actually removed it from the command bar.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #24
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The problem is a redirect page between the current page and the last page you saw. The back button takes you back to the redirect page, whose purpose is to send you to the current page, which it does--again and again. In most cases, the redirect page is googleads.g.doubleclick.net
    Here is the cure:
    Tools>Internet options>security>restricted sites>sites
    In the top box, type: googleads.g.doubleclick.net
    Click "add"
    Click "close"
    Click "OK"
    Someone else came up with this fix, but I can't give them credit because I can't find it again.

  10. #25
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    Thanks oneid, I already have that in my restricted site..

    Whatever was causing it seems to have stopped on it's on...There may have been a fix in one of the Windows updates.

    But, thanks for your input..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  11. #26
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I was getting the Google one, and a search found this:
    http://ie.microsoft.com/testdrive/browser/p3p/

    The button bottom left fixed it fine.

    I was also getting one other and found this information that heped me fix that one:
    http://www.speedguide.net/faq_in_q.php?qid=377

    Found that the offending item was assets.pinterest.com/pidget.html, so blocked it in 'restricted sites' using the instructions.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •