Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    VISTA 32: shortcuts for .exe files don't work

    Just recently, my desktop shortcuts for .exe files stopped working. I now have to right click the shortcut and left click "start" for the programs to open. How do I associate .exe files? I've gone into Program files and right clicked the .exe files to create a shortcut but the same thing happens---I get an error message and the the program won't open. Am I missing something simple here? Thanks ahead of time for your help! sb84

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    It might be easier to delete the shortcuts then create new shortcuts to the apps. I would try one to see what happens.

    You could try to right click on the shortcut and select Properties. Under properties, check to see the Shortcut tab Target is set properly to point to proper the .exe file.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ted,
    I tried new shortcuts and that didn't work. When I went to properties, the Target was set properly. So no luck there. But then, while in properties, I clicked on Advanced (in the Shortcuts tab), then clicked the box to 'run as administrator', clicked OK, clicked apply and now I can double left click on my shortcuts to open them. Unfortunately, as is the case with VISTA, I now get the User Account Control box before the program actually opens, so I still have an extra click before the programs open. Any further suggestions??? Thanks for your response and suggestions.
    sb84

  4. #4
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    If the shortcuts work (albeit with the UAC being tripped) while using run as Administrator, it suggests the original issue was a permissions problem. Have there been any changes to user accounts on the machine?

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You could also change the UAC level to a slightly lower level.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tinto Tech - there have been no changes to user accounts on the machine; my account is the only account.

    Ted - what do you mean when you say "change the UAC level to a slightly lower level"? I thought there is only one level for UAC---either you use it or you don't. Please explain.

    Thanks,
    sb84

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Control Panel, User Accounts, Change user account control settings

    UACSettings.jpg

    I believe this is the same in Vista as Win 7.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista UAC options

    Ted,

    Apparently the .jpg attachment you provided shows options for Win 7, not for Vista.

    Vista UAC options.jpg

    I've attached a .jpg showing the options available for Vista.

    Thanks,
    sb84

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Try the Turn User Account on or off. See if the screeen that I show in my screen shot shows up for you.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ted,
    The screen you show in your screen shot does not show up. Apparently, the option to have different levels of the UAC is only available in Win 7.
    sb84

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Sorry, I thought they were the same. I only used Vista for a short while. I do not have any further thoughts at this time.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sb84 View Post
    Just recently, my desktop shortcuts for .exe files stopped working. I now have to right click the shortcut and left click "start" for the programs to open. How do I associate .exe files? I've gone into Program files and right clicked the .exe files to create a shortcut but the same thing happens---I get an error message and the the program won't open. Am I missing something simple here? Thanks ahead of time for your help! sb84
    sb,
    See this Post #5...it might be of help to you...Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ted,
    Thanks for your suggestions. I appreciate your efforts to help me with this situation.

    Fred,
    I will check out "Post #5" to see if it helps. Thanks.

    sb84

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •