Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sharing Violation (Excel 2000)

    Hi All ... I have a shared workbook. I tried to copy a sheet, but that's not allowed in shared workbooks. So, I added a new sheet and did a copy, paste, and then edit. I saved the file. Now ...
    No one can get into the file, It says "File is locked for editing by me" and has the read only, notify and cancel buttons. I have been able to copy the file and we are using the copied file now. I have tried deleting the old workbook, but I get this error: "Cannot delete File. There has been a sharing violation. The source or destination may be in use." Please advise. And Thanks.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Reading/Swindon, Berkshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    664
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sharing Violation (Excel 2000)

    I think that this is a network problem rather than excel - it happens occaisionally here and the advice normally given is "see if you can delete it tomorrow". Usually the network sorts itself out overnight and you can delete/move/edit the file the following morning. Have you waited overnight yet?

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sharing Violation (Excel 2000)

    Sometimes a reboot helps freeing files set as in use.

    Why are you sharing? in general XL is pretty lousy in getting things right with shared workbooks...
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK, Berkshire, England
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sharing Violation (Excel 2000)

    I too have been experiencing this on occasion. Happens in Word 2000 and Excel 2000. The particular files are used by several people, often. People enter the same file, add something then save and exit and occaionally, it won't allow a normal save, but tells you it has saved file in temp and given it a number.
    A reboot usually sorts it - but its very annoying. We use NT4 sp6 and Windows 98 on all the workstations.
    I too feel it may be something to do with the network but further suggestions as to how to avoid it would be welcome.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •